Thule Motion 3 XXL Review (2026): Strong Specs, Missing Numbers

Thule Motion 3 XXL Review (2026): Strong Specs, Missing Numbers

Updated October 2026

A specs-led Thule Motion 3 XXL review for 2026: what the listing publishes on PowerClick, SlideLock and aerodynamics, an...

15 min read

As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

ProductWhy it is hereStandout published featureLink
Thule Motion 3 XXLThe single product analysed in this reviewPowerClick quick-mount with an integrated torque indicator that clicks at correct mountingCheck Price on Amazon

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Here's the thing about shopping for a large rooftop box online: the marketing copy is happy to tell you how the lid opens and how fast it mounts, and far less eager to tell you the numbers that decide whether it fits your car and your gear. That gap is the whole subject of this review.

What follows is a close reading of the published product information for the Thule Motion 3 XXL, sold on Amazon under ASIN B0CY3KQFDN. This website does not do product research, so nothing below is a report of installing, loading or driving with the box. It is an analysis of what the listing states, what those statements imply for a buyer, and — just as important — what the listing does not state.

Check Price on Amazon

Review at a Glance

Price:

Best For: Drivers who want a lockable, quick-mounting roof box with one-handed lid operation, and who are willing to confirm capacity and crossbar fit with the manufacturer before ordering.

Strengths, all drawn from the published listing:

Limitations a buyer should plan around:

Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show

The Thule Motion 3 XXL is a rooftop cargo box sold on Amazon under ASIN B0CY3KQFDN. The supplied listing information for this ASIN does not state the shell type, construction or material. The published feature set is built around four ideas: an aerodynamic shell, a lid you can work with one hand, a fast clamp system with mounting feedback, and a lock that confirms closure.

The XXL badge tells you where the model sits in the Motion 3 naming scheme, but a name is not a specification. The listing information used for this review does not attach a cubic-foot figure to this ASIN, so this review will not put one there either.

That is not a claim that Thule keeps its capacities secret. It means the capacity is not in the listing data behind this page, and it should be confirmed on the manufacturer's own product page or with the retailer before you commit.

Key Features and Specifications

Published featureWhat the listing statesReasonable inference for a buyer
Shell shapeWing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose for reduced drag and fuel efficiencyA sloped nose is the standard engineering answer to highway wind noise and drag; the listing frames the benefit qualitatively, with no drag coefficient or MPG figure attached
LidSturdy lid design with a wide handle for smooth opening and closing with just one handThe listing describes one-handed opening and closing for the Thule Motion 3 XXL; it states nothing about lid stiffness, flex or how to position yourself when loading. Follow Thule's approved access and handling instructions
MountingPowerClick quick-mount system with an integrated torque indicator that clicks when properly mountedThe listing describes the click as an indicator that the box is properly mounted; it is not a substitute for the manufacturer's complete installation procedure, which should be followed in full
LockingSlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions; automatically locks the lid and indicates when the box is closed securelyThe listing describes the indicator as showing that the box is closed securely; it is not a guarantee against user error, and the manufacturer's full closure procedure still applies
AccessoriesInterior box light, protective box liner, storage cover are listed as availableThe listing states these accessories are available for the Thule Motion 3 XXL; it does not state whether any are included, or their prices. Confirm what the actual offer includes before ordering

Those five bullets are the complete published feature set available for this ASIN. Everything else in this review is inference from them, labelled as such.

Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data

Start with the aerodynamics claim, because it is the one buyers most want quantified. The listing ties the wing-shaped profile and forward-leaning nose to reduced drag and fuel efficiency, but attaches no percentage, no test speed and no comparison box. Read it as a design intent, not a measured saving. Any roof box adds frontal area; a sloped nose is how a manufacturer tries to claw some of that back.

The mounting story is more concrete. A torque indicator that clicks is described as signalling that the box is properly mounted, which is useful on a box this size, though the listing presents it as an indicator rather than as a replacement for the manufacturer's complete installation procedure. Honestly, that single detail is the most decision-relevant thing in the whole feature list for anyone who has ever second-guessed a clamp in a parking lot.

The SlideLock design carries a similar logic. Because locking and opening are separate functions and the listing says the lid locks automatically and indicates secure closure, the system is built to remove ambiguity rather than to add a security rating. Note the scope: the listing describes an indicator of secure closure, which neither replaces the manufacturer's closure procedure nor certifies theft resistance, and the listing publishes no security standard or rating.

What cannot be assessed from this record is loaded behaviour — how the box tracks in crosswinds, how it sounds at 70 mph, or how much weight it will carry. No load figure is published in the supplied listing information for the Thule Motion 3 XXL (ASIN B0CY3KQFDN). Several limits apply and each is defined differently by its own manufacturer, so they cannot be compared as a single governing minimum: your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit in the vehicle manual, the rack or crossbar manufacturer's limit, the mount or foot-pack limit, and the carrier's own maximum cargo load. Apply each limit as its manufacturer defines it, including the equipment and cargo weights that definition requires. The box load limit for the Thule Motion 3 XXL (ASIN B0CY3KQFDN) is not in the supplied listing information, so obtain it from Thule and complete the fit and clearance check before loading.

Build Quality and Design

The listing's own language for the lid is "sturdy," and it pairs that with a wide handle intended for one-handed operation. Those two things are the listing's own wording for the Thule Motion 3 XXL; the supplied information states nothing about lid flex, stiffness or any structural requirement behind the one-handed claim.

Beyond that, the supplied record does not state the shell material, the wall construction, the hinge count, or a UV or weathering rating. This review will not guess at them. A cargo box's durability story usually lives in those fields, so if long-term weather exposure is your main concern, that is the information to chase down on Thule's own specification sheet before buying.

The accessory list is a design signal in itself. Publishing an interior box light, a protective box liner and a storage cover as available options suggests the product is designed with off-season storage and interior protection in mind — though the listing states only that these accessories are available for the Thule Motion 3 XXL, without saying whether any are included or what they cost; confirm what the actual offer contains.

Thule Motion 3 XXL vs XL: What Can Actually Be Compared

This is the comparison most shoppers want, and it is the one this page can least honestly make. A meaningful XXL versus XL verdict turns on capacity, length and weight, and the listing record used here covers only the XXL and does not publish those figures for it.

So here is the useful version instead. No product information for the XL is supplied here, so this page cannot say which mechanisms the two sizes share or whether the choice comes down only to fit and volume. Compare the exact published specifications for the XL and for the Thule Motion 3 XXL on Thule's own pages — features as well as dimensions — and measure your crossbar spread and rear hatch clearance before choosing.

If you are still mapping out your setup, our rooftop cargo box buying guide and roof rack crossbar compatibility explainers cover the measurement steps in order.

Check Price on Amazon

Value for Money

Value here is a judgement about what the published features buy you, not a price verdict — no price or comparative price information is supplied here, so check and compare the current offers on Amazon.

What you are paying for, on the evidence available, is convenience engineering: a mount that confirms itself, a lock that confirms itself, and a lid built to be operated one-handed. Those are the documented convenience features you interact with every time you load the box.

What you are not buying, on this record, is a published performance number. There is no stated drag figure, no stated capacity, and no stated warranty term in the supplied listing information. If your purchase decision hinges on any of those, get them confirmed first rather than inferring them from the model name.

Who Should Buy This

Buy it if you mount and dismount a box seasonally and value the documented convenience features; compare the current offers before deciding, since no price information is supplied here. The torque indicator and the SlideLock closure indicator are both described as indicators of correct mounting and secure closure, and the manufacturer's full installation and closure procedures still apply.

Buy it if you load one-handed, often, in bad weather. The wide-handle, one-hand lid design is the feature that matters at 6 a.m. in a trailhead parking lot.

Think harder if your buying decision depends on an exact cubic-foot number, a specific load rating, or confirmed dual-side access — none of which the supplied listing information establishes. Confirm those with Thule or the retailer, then decide.

Skip it if you need a soft, packable bag. Whether your vehicle's roof load limit is a binding constraint cannot be decided from this record, because the empty weight and load limit of the Thule Motion 3 XXL are not in the supplied listing information — apply each manufacturer's own figure once you have them.

How We Research

This review was built from two source types and no others: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0CY3KQFDN, and the product listing feature bullets published on that listing, both retrieved on September 6, 2026.

Every specification, feature and capability statement above traces back to one of those bullets. Where a figure is absent, we say it is absent rather than substituting one from memory or from a similarly named model. No product was physically handled, installed, loaded or driven for this page, and this website operates no test facility.

For safety context, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes recall notices and safety information for consumer products, and USA.gov's consumer protection pages explain how to report a problem with a purchase. Both are worth a quick check before any large vehicle accessory purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the Thule Motion 3 XXL open from both sides?

The supplied listing information does not state whether the Motion 3 XXL opens from both sides of the vehicle. Dual-side opening is a common feature on large cargo boxes, but it is not confirmed for this ASIN by the listing text used here — check Thule's own specification page before assuming it.

How big is the Thule Motion 3 XXL in cubic feet?

The listing information supplied for ASIN B0CY3KQFDN does not state the box's capacity in cubic feet, its exterior dimensions, its weight, or its maximum load. Because no capacity figure is available for this ASIN, check Thule's published size chart for the Thule Motion 3 XXL rather than inferring capacity from the XXL name.

How is the Thule Motion 3 XXL mounted to a roof rack?

According to the listing, the PowerClick quick-mount system includes an integrated torque indicator that clicks when the box is properly mounted. The listing describes that click as an indicator that the box is properly mounted; it does not replace Thule's complete installation instructions, which should be followed in full. Nothing in the supplied listing information states a crossbar spread requirement or a list of compatible roof rack systems, so confirm fit against your specific bars.

Does it lock, and how do you know it is closed?

The listing describes a SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions that automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the box is closed securely. That is a closure confirmation, not a published security or theft-resistance rating.

Will it actually improve my fuel economy?

The listing describes a wing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose for reduced drag and fuel efficiency, but it publishes no percentage, speed or test condition alongside that claim. Treat it as a design goal relative to a less aerodynamic shape, not as a measured saving for your vehicle.

What accessories are available for it?

The listing states that available accessories include an interior box light, a protective box liner, and a storage cover. They are listed as available for the Thule Motion 3 XXL; the supplied information does not state whether any are included in the offer or what they cost, so confirm what the actual offer includes.

What does the Thule Motion 3 XXL cost?

No price is stated in the listing information used here, so check and compare the current offers on Amazon rather than trusting a number printed on a static page.

Final Verdict

The Thule Motion 3 XXL earns its place on a shortlist for one specific buyer: the driver who mounts and dismounts a large box repeatedly and wants the hardware to confirm its own state. The PowerClick torque indicator that clicks at correct mounting and the SlideLock closure indicator are both described as state indicators for the Thule Motion 3 XXL; used alongside Thule's full installation and closure procedures, that is a coherent, well-aimed design.

Where it asks for homework is the numbers. Capacity, dimensions, load limit, warranty and dual-side access are all outside what the supplied listing information establishes, and this page will not fill those in with plausible-sounding guesses. Get them from Thule's specification sheet, then apply each manufacturer's own limit separately — vehicle, rack or crossbar, mount, and box — and confirm crossbar spread and clearance before use.

Recommended for seasonal, convenience-first buyers who will verify fit and volume first. Not the right pick if you need those figures settled before you can even shortlist.

Check Price on Amazon

Sources and Methodology

No one at this website drove, loaded, mounted or weighed a Thule roof box for this article, and there is no lab behind it. The analysis came from the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0CY3KQFDN and the product listing feature bullets published with it, both retrieved on September 6, 2026, read line by line and separated into what is stated, what can be reasonably inferred, and what is simply absent.

For a cargo box, that method is genuinely good at one thing and honest about another. It settles how the product is designed to mount, lock and open — the features you interact with on every trip — while leaving capacity, load limits and vehicle fit as questions to confirm against Thule's own size and fit data before you buy.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/
USA.gov consumer protection

usa.gov

https://www.usa.gov/consumer-protection

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews