As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Fitment detail the manufacturer publishes | Best suited to | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars for 2023-2026 Honda CRV & CR-V Sport Hybrid | Listed for 2023-2026 Honda CRV & CR-V Hybrid models with side rails; rated up to 220 lbs evenly distributed | CR-V owners with factory side rails who have no crossbars yet | Check Price on Amazon |
| 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps | 82mm/3.23in inner width; racks up to approx. 40mm thick; the rack-width figure is printed as "80mm/1.96in", two units that do not agree, so it needs confirming with the manufacturer; stated as not suitable for Thule car racks | Bars within the stated 40mm thickness whose width you have confirmed with the manufacturer | Check Price on Amazon |
| 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit | Crossbar width must be under 3.35in (85mm) and thickness under 1.06in (27mm), both stated as strict limits | Crossbars measuring inside those stated limits, where your carrier's and rack's own instructions approve this type of clamp | Check Price on Amazon |
| Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Car Roof Rack Metal Mounting Brackets | 83mm/3.27in inner width and 103mm/4.04in outer width; the listing also states crossbars not exceeding 3.34in (84.8mm), which is wider than its own 83mm opening | Buyers who first confirm with the manufacturer which of those two conflicting width figures applies | Check Price on Amazon |
| 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, for Cargo Rack,Rooftop Tent and Crossbar | Inner bent size 2-1/4in x 1/8in; slot 5/16in x 5/8in; hole spacing 3-5/8in; 304 stainless | Square bars up to 2-1/4in, where the equipment manufacturer confirms these brackets as an approved part for that application | Check Price on Amazon |
| XOOKUN Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Compatible with Wrangler JL JK 2007-2024, Gladiator JT, Cherokee XJ 1984-2001 | Bolt-on, no drilling; rubber-covered drip gutter clamps; two screws per bracket | Owners of the listed Jeep models, where the rack or carrier maker approves these brackets as its mount | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Here's the thing about roof racks: a well-made part is still the wrong part if it does not fit, and fit is decided by what your vehicle, rack and carrier manufacturers approve — dimensions alone do not settle it. The crossbar was wider than the clamp opening. The car had raised side rails when the part assumed a bare roof. The cargo box needed a bracket that the box did not ship with.
This guide is about that gap. Not "which roof box is best" — that is a separate question — but the boring dimensional work that decides whether the parts you order will bolt together at all. By the end you will know how to measure your own roof, read a fitment bullet critically, and check a candidate clamp kit against the mounting hardware your carrier, rack and vehicle instructions actually approve — closing around the bar is a precondition, not proof of fit.
Every specification quoted below comes from the manufacturer's published listing information for that exact product, retrieved 2026-09-06. This website does not do product research, and nothing here describes a part being handled, installed or measured by anyone here.
- Fitment - Fits for 2023 2024 2025 2026 Honda CRV & CR-V Hybrid models with side rails, giving you a perfect fit that enhances the look of your vehicle. Please check your vehicle's
- Good-Quality Aluminum-Constructed Roof Racks - Made of good-quality aluminum alloy with a black power-coated surface that is water-proof and anti-corrosion, ensuring it withstands
- 【Fitment of Roof Rack Clamps】Roof box u-bolt clips are suitable for most cars
- 【High Quality】Our u-bolt roof rack clamps made of stainless steel and plastic, wear-resistant, temperature-resistant, not easy to rust, not easy to break deformation, durable
- Avoid Accidental Movement: With our car roof rack hardware, no more worry about accidental movement or shaking of the roof box, the U-bolt structure provides a good tightening
- Compatible Size: In order for the car roof rack clamps kit to fit correctly on your vehicle, please check the roof rack crossbar size before purchase, the width needs to be less
- Slot hole size: 5/16" x 5/8"(for U bolt rod M8 or 5/16")
- Inner (bent) size : 2-1/4" x 1/8"; Which for Square crossbars up to 2‑1/4 inches wide, Thickness: 1/8"
- 【COMPATIBILITY】: Designed to fit multiple models including Wrangler JL/JK (2007-2024), Gladiator JT, and Cherokee XJ
- 【MOUNTING 】SYSTEM: Complete bracket kit provides secure attachment points for aftermarket roof racks and cargo carriers
Will a Roof Box Fit My Car? Start With the Roof, Not the Box
Short answer: a roof box does not attach to your car. It attaches to crossbars, and the crossbars attach to your roof. So "will it fit my car" is really two questions stacked — does your roof accept crossbars, and do those crossbars fall inside the box's clamp range?
Work from the bottom up in this order:
- Identify your roof type. Bare roof, raised side rails, flush rails, fixed points, or rain gutters.
- Get crossbars that match that roof type. This is the vehicle-specific step, and it is where fitment years matter.
- Measure the crossbars you actually have — width across the top, thickness top to bottom.
- Use the mounting hardware your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's instructions approve, and check that its published fit envelope also covers that measurement.
- Check the crossbar spread front to rear against what your cargo box or carrier needs.
Types of Roof Mounting Explained
Raised Side Rails vs Bare Roof
Raised side rails run front-to-back along the roof edge with a visible gap underneath — you can slide your fingers between the rail and the roof skin. A crossbar for this roof type wraps that rail and clamps to it. That is the setup the manufacturer describes for the ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars, which the listing specifies for 2023-2026 Honda CRV and CR-V Hybrid models with side rails.
A bare roof has nothing on it. Crossbars for a bare roof grip the door frames with shaped feet and a fit-specific pad — which is why bare-roof kits are almost always sold by exact model and body style, and why a rail-type bar will not adapt to one.
Rain gutters are the old-school case: a raised lip along the roof edge, common on older 4x4s. The XOOKUN Roof Rack Mounting Brackets listing describes heavy-duty drip gutter clamps with rubber on the top and bottom, specifically to prevent metal-to-metal contact and wear on the vehicle's drip gutter. That rubber detail matters on a gutter mount — the clamp is squeezing a painted structural lip, and bare steel against it is how you start rust.
Comparison: Attachment Methods
| Attachment method | What it grips | Vehicle-specific? | Example in this guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rail-clamping crossbars | Raised side rails | Yes — sold by model and year range | ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars for 2023-2026 Honda CRV & CR-V Sport Hybrid |
| U-bolt clamps | The crossbar itself, from underneath | Sized by bar dimensions, but permitted only where the carrier's and rack's instructions approve this mount | 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps |
| Flat/bent bracket plates | Square or flat crossbars | Sized by bar width and slot, but permitted only where the equipment's instructions approve this mount | 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, for Cargo Rack,Rooftop Tent and Crossbar |
| Drip gutter brackets | The vehicle's rain gutter lip | Yes — by body | XOOKUN Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Compatible with Wrangler JL JK 2007-2024 |
Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps Explained
In general terms, a U-bolt clamp works by passing a U-shaped bolt around the crossbar and drawing it up against a backing plate with nuts, clamping the carrier to the bar. The arrangement, the number of fasteners and the points the bolts pass through vary by product and by carrier, so follow the exact installation instructions supplied with your box, rack and clamp kit rather than this outline.
Dimensions on their own do not establish that a kit is an approved mount: your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's own instructions decide which mounting hardware, retention and positions are permitted, and a generic clamp is not established as a replacement for the specified part merely because it closes around a bar. Where those instructions do permit a U-bolt kit, three published numbers are still worth checking:
- Maximum rack width the kit is rated for — not the same thing as the raw opening between the legs. Where a listing gives both, and the two figures do not agree, ask the manufacturer which one applies rather than assuming.
- Stud spacing — the distance between the clamp's two legs, which has to match the mounting points your carrier's own instructions specify.
- Maximum bar thickness — how tall a bar the U can swallow before the threads run out.
| Kit | Inner width | Other published dimensions |
|---|---|---|
| 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps | 82mm / 3.23in | 90mm centre-to-centre thread spacing; 7.5mm (M8) screw diameter; racks up to approx. 40mm thick; rack width printed as "80mm/1.96in", two figures that do not agree |
| Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps | 83mm / 3.27in | 103mm / 4.04in outer width; the listing also states crossbar width not exceeding 3.34in (84.8mm), which is wider than the 83mm opening, so the two figures conflict |
| 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit | Not stated as an inner width | Crossbar under 3.35in (85mm) wide and under 1.06in (27mm) thick; 3.92in spacing between the outsides of the two studs |
Read that Glazeal row carefully, because it is the single most misread pattern in this category. The listing publishes an 82mm/3.23in inner width and separately states the kit can be used for luggage racks up to approximately 40mm thick and 80mm wide. An 80mm permitted bar width inside an 82mm opening is not in itself a contradiction; the inconsistency sits inside the rack-width figure itself, which is printed as "80mm/1.96in" — and 80mm is 3.15in, not 1.96in (1.96in is about 50mm). Because the 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps listing contradicts itself here, this guide cannot state a maximum bar width for that kit; ask the manufacturer which figure is correct before sizing a bar against it.
Notice the trap in the third row too. The 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit requires a crossbar thickness of less than 1.06 inches (27mm), while the Glazeal kit states it can be used for luggage racks up to approximately 40mm thick. Neither listing publishes any thread-engagement dimension, so compare your measured bar thickness against each kit's own stated limit rather than inferring how much room a given bar would leave.
Also read the exclusions. The Glazeal listing states plainly that it is not suitable for Thule car racks. That is the seller telling you something useful for free — take it at face value rather than hoping.
Key Features to Look For, Ranked by Importance
1. A published dimension you can compare to a tape measure
This outranks material, finish and brand, though it comes after the prior question of whether your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's instructions approve that type of mount at all. A clamp that publishes an 82mm inner width and 90mm thread centres, as the 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps listing does, gives you figures you can check before you order — although on that listing the rack-width figure is printed inconsistently, so it is not one of them. A listing that says only "fits most cars" is not.
And when a listing says "suitable for most cars" and publishes the numbers — which is what both the Glazeal and Tuxihapp listings do, the latter naming sedans, SUVs and off-road vehicles — treat the numbers as the real specification and the "most cars" phrase as marketing.
2. Hardware completeness
A half-kit means a second order and a lost weekend. The published contents are worth reading closely:
- The Glazeal kit lists 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker.
- The Tuxihapp kit lists the same component types: 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker.
- The 4PCS Car U-Bolt kit lists 4 U-bolts, 2 straps, 8 nuts, 1 sheet of sealing stickers, 4 washers, instructions and 4 plates.
- The XOOKUN bracket listing states it includes the necessary mounting hardware, brackets and installation instructions.
3. Load rating, where one is published
Only one product here publishes a figure: the manufacturer rates the ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars at up to 220 lbs when the load is evenly distributed. Read both halves of that. "Evenly distributed" is a condition, not a footnote — a point load concentrated at one end is not the case the rating describes.
The supplied listing information for the clamp and bracket kits does not state a load rating for any of them. That is a gap in what was published, not evidence that the parts are weak. It does mean the missing figures have to be obtained from the manufacturers before anything is loaded: the vehicle's roof load limit, the crossbar's rating, and the ratings of the mounting hardware and of the carrier itself. Each is defined by its own manufacturer and each has to be satisfied on its own terms — a vehicle or crossbar figure cannot stand in for a clamp or carrier rating that has not been published — and every allowance has to cover the bars, the mounting hardware and the empty box or carrier as well as the cargo, as each manufacturer's instructions require. The supplied listing information does not state the weight of any of these parts, so weigh them or ask the manufacturer.
4. Corrosion resistance at the contact point
Roof hardware lives in road salt and standing water. The Glazeal clamps are described as stainless steel and plastic, wear-resistant and temperature-resistant. The Tuxihapp clamps are likewise described as high-quality stainless steel and plastic with corrosion and weather resistance. The 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets listing is the most specific of the three: 304 stainless, polished.
The 4PCS Car U-Bolt kit takes a different approach — the manufacturer describes galvanized iron U-bolts with weather-resistant ABS parts. Galvanized iron depends on its coating; a thread chewed by an over-torqued nut has lost that coating locally. If you go this route, treat the threads gently.
The ANTS PART crossbars are described as aluminium alloy with a black powder-coated surface the manufacturer calls water-proof and anti-corrosion.
5. Protection of the painted surface
Every contact point between metal and your car is a potential wear patch. The Glazeal listing credits its rubber gasket and plastic backing plate with increasing friction, reducing vibration and protecting the car from scratches. The Tuxihapp listing describes rubber washers and plastic back plates that increase friction and reduce vibration. The 4PCS Car U-Bolt kit says its spacers protect the contact surface. On the Jeep side, the XOOKUN brackets use rubber-covered gutter clamps for the same reason.
6. Included straps
The 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps listing describes 2 nylon straps to keep the box's contents safe. The Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps listing describes 2 straps for reinforcement that help ensure the cargo stays securely in place on bumpy roads. Neither listing describes the straps as a means of holding the box to the crossbars.
Crossbar Spread for a Cargo Box
"Spread" is the front-to-rear distance between your two crossbars, measured centre to centre. Cargo boxes and carriers publish a minimum and maximum spread they can mount across, because their floor mounting slots are only so long.
The supplied listing information for these products does not state a required crossbar spread for any of them, so measure your own and check it against your specific box's published requirement.
Two practical points that follow from the hardware itself:
- Spread has to be achievable on your roof. The ANTS PART listing states the crossbar width is adjustable and that the front crossbar is longer than the rear to accommodate the vehicle's shape — an adjustment across the roof, side to side. It does not state that the front-to-rear position is adjustable, and the positions a bar may occupy are only those the vehicle's and rack's own instructions allow — having a matching roof type does not by itself establish fit.
- A bracket's hole spacing constrains where the bolt lands, not the spread. The 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets publish a hole spacing of 3-5/8 inches from the end and a slot of 5/16in x 5/8in for M8 or 5/16in U-bolt rod. That tells you which rod diameter the slot accepts, but it does not on its own settle whether a given U-bolt fits, because the legs also have to align with the slots, and the listing states hole spacing only as 3-5/8in from the end without defining the reference point. Either way, that is a question about two parts, separate from the spread question.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Assuming "fits most cars" covers your bar. It is a claim about the market, not about your roof. The published dimension is a limit to check, and the approved mount is whatever your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's instructions specify.
- Reading the clamp opening as the fit limit. The Glazeal listing publishes an 82mm/3.23in inner width and separately gives a rack width of "80mm/1.96in" — a single figure whose own two units do not agree, since 80mm is 3.15in. Where an opening and a rated rack size are both given and the two do not agree, neither can be relied on until the manufacturer confirms which applies — and a bar wider than the clamp's stated opening is not one the U-bolt can close around. The kit's stated thickness limit is approximately 40mm/1.57in.
- Measuring the rail instead of the crossbar. U-bolt clamps grip the crossbar. The rail dimension is irrelevant to them.
- Ignoring thickness. Width gets checked; thickness gets forgotten. The 4PCS kit's 1.06in (27mm) thickness ceiling is a genuine limit on tall aero bars.
- Ignoring a stated exclusion. The Glazeal listing says it is not suitable for Thule car racks. Believe it.
- Buying a crossbar set outside its listed year range. The ANTS PART bars are listed for 2023-2026 Honda CRV and CR-V Hybrid models with side rails, and the listing itself asks buyers to check their vehicle information before purchasing. The listing establishes compatibility only for those listed years, models and rail type; outside that, confirm fit with the manufacturer rather than assuming it either way.
- Treating a bracket kit as a rack. The XOOKUN listing describes a bracket kit providing attachment points for aftermarket roof racks and cargo carriers. It is the interface, not the rack. The listed Jeep models establish which vehicles the brackets are stated to fit, not which rack they may carry or how much load, so confirm both with the rack's manufacturer.
- Leaving unused holes open. Use the sealing stickers the kits include, in the way their own instructions direct.
- Never re-checking the nuts. Re-check on whatever schedule your kit's and carrier's instructions specify; the supplied listings publish no torque figure and no re-check interval.
Budget Considerations
Spend where the failure mode is expensive. Useful criteria, in order:
- Buy the vehicle-specific part where the vehicle-specific part is required. Crossbars and gutter brackets are model-tied; there is no generic substitute for a bad fit.
- Buy hardware by dimension, not by price. A clamp that does not close is worthless at any price.
- Prefer kits that publish their full contents. Re-ordering a missing back plate costs more in time than the part.
- Consider a spare set. Both the Glazeal and Tuxihapp kits are described as lightweight and easy to store, which makes a second set easy to keep in the car — useful only where that kit is the one your carrier's and rack's instructions approve for that exact application.
Our Top Recommendations
These are shortlisting notes drawn from published specifications, not approvals. Before buying any of the clamp or bracket kits below, check that your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's own instructions permit that mounting hardware, retention and position on your vehicle; clearing the dimensional limits does not establish a kit as a substitute for the mount your equipment specifies.
ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars for 2023-2026 Honda CRV & CR-V Sport Hybrid — Best for CR-V owners with factory side rails
This is the vehicle-specific starting point, and the reason it earns the spot is the combination of a stated 2023-2026 Honda CRV and CR-V Hybrid with side rails fitment and a manufacturer rating of up to 220 lbs evenly distributed. If you own one of those CR-Vs and have rails but no bars, this is the layer everything else attaches to.
The construction is aluminium alloy with a black powder-coated surface the manufacturer describes as water-proof and anti-corrosion. The listing states the crossbar width is adjustable, with the front bar longer than the rear to suit the vehicle's shape, and that all necessary installation tools are included. The intended cargo list runs to kayaks, canoes, luggage, snowboards, skis, bikes and fishing poles.
Strengths: narrow, explicit year and trim fitment; a published load figure; corrosion-oriented finish; tools included.
Limitations: it is only for the listed 2023-2026 CR-V and CR-V Hybrid models with side rails, and the manufacturer's own bullet asks you to verify your vehicle first. The 220 lb figure is conditional on even distribution.
4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps — Best for bars within its stated 40mm thickness limit
For the 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps, the listing states an inner width of 82mm/3.23in, 90mm/3.54in centre-to-centre thread spacing and 7.5mm/0.3in (M8) screw diameter, and says it can be used on luggage racks up to approximately 40mm thick. Those figures let you check thread size and bar thickness on paper; the maximum bar width is not among the figures you can check this way, for the reason below.
Its rack-width figure, though, is printed as "80mm/1.96in", and those two units do not describe the same size (80mm is 3.15in; 1.96in is about 50mm). Until the manufacturer confirms which is correct, treat the maximum bar width for this kit as unconfirmed rather than sizing a bar against either number.
The contents are 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker. The manufacturer describes stainless steel and plastic construction, wear- and temperature-resistant, and credits the rubber gasket and plastic backing plate with increasing friction and reducing vibration.
Strengths: opening width, thread spacing, screw diameter and a thickness limit are all published; lock nuts and straps included; an honest exclusion stated up front.
Limitations: the listing states it is not suitable for Thule car racks, and its rack-width figure is internally inconsistent ("80mm/1.96in"), so the widest bar it accepts is unconfirmed — measure your bar and check that figure with the manufacturer before you order.
4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit — Best for crossbars under 3.35 inches wide and under 1.06 inches thick
For this kit the manufacturer specifies a crossbar width of less than 3.35 inches (85mm) and a thickness of less than 1.06 inches (27mm) — strict limits rather than inclusive ones. Because the Glazeal listing's own width figure is inconsistent, the supplied listings do not establish how this kit's width allowance compares with it. For the 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit, the listing gives 3.92 inches as the spacing between the outsides of the two studs; it does not publish a centre-to-centre figure, so this number is not the hole spacing your box's floor has to accept.
Contents are 4 U-bolts, 2 straps, 8 nuts, a sheet of sealing stickers, 4 washers, instructions and 4 plates. The U-bolts are galvanized iron, which the manufacturer describes as having good anti-fatigue ability, with weather-resistant ABS parts. The listing walks through the sequence: plate onto the luggage rack, gasket under the plate, U-bolt studs through the pre-determined holes, tighten the nuts, seal the excess holes.
Strengths: a bar-width limit published in both inches and millimetres; stud spacing stated in inches; a step-by-step installation sequence published in this kit's own listing.
Limitations: its stated thickness limit of less than 27mm is lower than the approximately 40mm the Glazeal listing states, so tall bars are out. Galvanized iron rather than the stainless used in the other two clamp kits.
Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps — Best for buyers who want both the inner and outer width published
The distinguishing spec here is that the manufacturer publishes both widths of the clamp: for the Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Car Roof Rack Metal Mounting Brackets the listing states an inner width of 83mm/3.27in and an outer width of 103mm/4.04in. The listing does not say how the outer figure is oriented or what space the clamp occupies once installed, and it publishes no height or vertical clearance dimension at all. The same listing also states compatibility with crossbars not exceeding 3.34 inches, which is 84.8mm and so wider than its own 83mm opening, so ask the manufacturer which width figure actually applies before ordering.
Contents match the pattern: 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker. The manufacturer describes stainless steel and plastic construction with corrosion and weather resistance, and states installation takes 3-5 minutes with no professional skills required. The listing names sedans, SUVs and off-road vehicles as suitable model types and still asks you to check the size.
Strengths: inner and outer width both published; stainless hardware; lock nuts and reinforcement straps included.
Limitations: the supplied listing does not state a maximum bar thickness, and its two width figures contradict each other — so bar fit cannot be established from the listing alone. The 3-5 minute installation figure is the manufacturer's claim.
8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets — Best for square bars up to 2-1/4 inches and bracket-only repairs
This one is not a clamp kit — it is the bracket half. Matching dimensions alone do not make it an approved replacement for the plates in an existing set, so confirm with the equipment's manufacturer before treating it as one. The published numbers are unusually precise for this category: slot hole 5/16in x 5/8in for M8 or 5/16in U-bolt rod, inner bent size 2-1/4in x 1/8in, thickness 1/8in, hole spacing 3-5/8in from the end, in polished 304 stainless.
The manufacturer describes the intended use as installing, repairing and adapting kayak racks, roof baskets and cargo boxes on flat or 2-1/4-inch vehicle crossbars.
Strengths: 304 stainless; a slot size that tells you exactly which rod diameter passes; eight brackets, as the title states — how many a given installation needs, and whether they are an approved replacement for yours, depends on the exact equipment, so confirm the package components and the application with the manufacturer.
Limitations: the supplied listing information for the 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, for Cargo Rack,Rooftop Tent and Crossbar covers dimensions and material only and does not state the package contents, so confirm with the manufacturer what hardware, if any, comes with it. The 2-1/4in inner size is a hard ceiling on bar width.
XOOKUN Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Compatible with Wrangler JL JK 2007-2024 — Best for the listed Jeep models where the rack maker approves these brackets
The reason this earns its own slot is its multi-model Jeep fitment: the manufacturer states it fits Wrangler JL/JK (2007-2024), Gladiator JT, and Cherokee XJ (1984-2001). It is a bracket kit that provides attachment points for aftermarket roof racks and cargo carriers, not a rack itself.
Installation is described as direct bolt-on with no drilling or vehicle modification. Each bracket is described as upgraded to install with two screws, and the heavy-duty drip gutter clamps are covered with rubber top and bottom to prevent metal-to-metal contact and wear on the vehicle's drip gutter. Construction is heavy-duty steel, and the kit is stated to include all necessary mounting hardware, brackets and detailed installation instructions.
Strengths: explicit multi-model Jeep fitment; no drilling; two screws per bracket; rubber isolation at the gutter.
Limitations: the supplied listing does not state a load rating, a bracket count or the crossbar sizes it accepts, so confirm those against the rack you intend to mount.
How We Research
This website reads specifications; it does not run a workshop. For this guide, each product's Amazon Creators API verified product record was pulled on 2026-09-06, and every published listing feature bullet for that ASIN was read in full before any claim was made about it.
The comparisons above are arithmetic on those published numbers — 27mm against 40mm, for instance — plus reasoning about what those numbers mean when a bolt meets a bar; where a listing's own figures contradict each other, that is flagged here rather than settled in favour of one of them. Where a listing does not publish a figure, this guide says so rather than estimating one. No part was handled, fitted, loaded or measured on this site's behalf.
How to Get the Best Deal on Amazon
- Measure before you shop. Bar width and thickness in millimetres. Every decision downstream depends on those two numbers.
- Read the fitment bullet, not the title. Titles compress; bullets carry the exclusions and the rated limits, like the Glazeal kit's note about Thule racks and its rack-width figure, which that listing prints inconsistently as "80mm/1.96in".
- Buy the clamp kit and the box in the same window. If the clamps do not fit, you want both return windows open.
- Check whether hardware is included before adding an accessory. The supplied listing information for the 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, for Cargo Rack,Rooftop Tent and Crossbar publishes dimensions, slot sizes and steel grade but does not state the package contents, so ask the manufacturer what the kit includes.
- Compare the current offer on each candidate. Check current price on Amazon for the kits you have shortlisted rather than assuming an order.
Maintenance & Care Tips
- Follow the checking and re-tightening procedure in your kit's, rack's and carrier's own instructions. The supplied listings state no torque figure and no re-check interval, so the schedule has to come from that documentation. The lock nuts included in the Glazeal and Tuxihapp kits (8 apiece) are described as lock nuts, which is not a reason to skip whatever check those instructions require.
- Seal the unused holes as the kit's instructions direct. The Glazeal, Tuxihapp and 4PCS kits each list sealing stickers among their contents.
- Inspect the rubber contact parts. The rubber washers and plastic back plates are what stand between hardware and paint; a perished washer is doing nothing. Clean or replace them as the manufacturer's instructions specify.
- Follow the manufacturer's cleaning guidance after salt exposure. The supplied listings describe stainless steel and plastic on the Glazeal and Tuxihapp kits and galvanized iron U-bolts with weather-resistant ABS parts on the 4PCS kit, but none publishes a washing procedure.
- Store the kit indoors between seasons. The Tuxihapp and Glazeal listings both describe the hardware as lightweight and easy to store.
- Keep the instructions. The 4PCS kit and the XOOKUN kit both list printed instructions; the installation sequence published by the 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit applies to that kit on an application its own instructions approve, not to the other kits here.
For general product safety recalls and consumer guidance, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (cpsc.gov) and USA.gov's consumer protection resources are the authoritative starting points.
Frequently Asked Questions
Measure the crossbar's width across the top and its thickness top to bottom, then compare both against the clamp kit's published limits. As an example, the 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit requires a crossbar under 3.35 inches (85mm) wide and under 1.06 inches (27mm) thick, while the Glazeal kit states it can be used for luggage racks up to approximately 40mm thick, with a rack-width figure printed as "80mm/1.96in" whose two units disagree, so that width needs confirming with the manufacturer. Width alone is not enough — a bar can pass the width check and fail on thickness, and clearing both limits still only rules a kit in dimensionally: your box's, rack's and vehicle's own instructions decide which mounting hardware is approved.
What is crossbar spread and why does it matter?
Crossbar spread is the front-to-rear distance between your two crossbars, measured centre to centre. Cargo boxes specify a minimum and maximum spread because their floor mounting slots have limited travel. The supplied listing information for the products in this guide does not state a required spread for any of them, so check your box's own published requirement against your measured spread.
Is a clamp's inner width the same as the maximum bar it fits?
Not necessarily, and this is where buyers go wrong. The Glazeal kit publishes an 82mm/3.23in inner width and separately states it can be used for luggage racks up to approximately 40mm/1.57in thick and "80mm/1.96in" wide — a width whose two units disagree, since 80mm is 3.15in, so it cannot be used as a fit limit without confirmation from the manufacturer. When a listing gives both an opening and a rated rack size and the two disagree, ask the manufacturer which figure applies before sizing a bar, and bear in mind that the clamp still has to close around the bar, so a bar wider than the stated opening cannot be assumed to fit.
Raised side rails vs bare roof — which do I have?
If you can slide your fingers under a bar running front-to-back along the roof edge, you have raised side rails. A roof with no rails, rack or fixed points showing is a bare roof, and that type takes a door-frame-clamping crossbar system instead. The ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars, for instance, are listed for 2023-2026 Honda CRV and CR-V Hybrid models with side rails. Having the same roof type does not by itself establish fit — the bars' listed vehicle, years and rail type have to cover your car too.
Can I use U-bolt clamps on any roof rack?
No. They are sized by dimension and some listings name explicit exclusions — the Glazeal kit states it is not suitable for Thule car racks. Always match the published width and thickness limits to your measured bar rather than relying on a general "fits most cars" phrase — and treat matching numbers as a minimum, not an approval, since the mount your rack's and carrier's instructions specify is what governs.
How much weight can a roof rack carry?
That depends on every limit published by the manufacturers in the stack — the vehicle's roof load limit, the crossbar's rating, and the ratings of the mounting hardware and of the carrier itself. Each is defined on its own terms and has to be satisfied separately rather than substituted for another, and each allowance has to cover the crossbars, the mounting hardware and the empty carrier or box as well as the cargo, so obtain any figure that is missing from its manufacturer before deciding what you can pack. Among the products here, the manufacturer rates the ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars at up to 220 lbs when evenly distributed; the supplied listing information does not state a load rating for the clamp and bracket kits.
Do U-bolt clamp kits include everything I need?
The three clamp kits here publish their contents. The Glazeal and Tuxihapp kits each list 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker; the 4PCS kit lists 4 U-bolts, 2 straps, 8 nuts, a sheet of sealing stickers, 4 washers, instructions and 4 plates. The supplied listing information for the 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, for Cargo Rack,Rooftop Tent and Crossbar does not state its package contents, so what hardware it ships with is unconfirmed.
Will roof rack brackets damage my paint or gutters?
Good hardware puts a soft layer at every contact point. The Glazeal and Tuxihapp kits both describe rubber washers and plastic back plates that increase friction and protect the car from scratches, and the XOOKUN brackets use drip gutter clamps covered with rubber top and bottom to prevent metal-to-metal contact. Inspect those soft parts periodically, because a perished washer stops doing that job.
Final Verdict
If you drive a 2023-2026 CR-V or CR-V Hybrid with side rails and have no bars yet, start with the ANTS PART Roof Rack Cross Bars — it states fitment for that vehicle and a published 220 lb evenly-distributed rating. Jeep owners on the listed Wrangler JL/JK (2007-2024), Gladiator JT or Cherokee XJ (1984-2001) have the equivalent starting point in the XOOKUN Roof Rack Mounting Brackets, with its no-drilling bolt-on design and rubber-lined gutter clamps — provided the rack or carrier you intend to mount approves these brackets as its attachment point and its own load limits are observed.
For the mounting hardware, start from what your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's instructions approve, then check the tape measure against the published limits. Bars up to about 40mm thick are within the thickness the 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps states, but that listing prints its rack width as "80mm/1.96in" — two figures that do not agree — so its width limit has to be confirmed with the manufacturer before you order. Separately, the 4PCS Car U-Bolt Roof Rack Mounting Brackets Kit states its own limits: crossbars less than 3.35 inches wide and less than 1.06 inches thick. Because the Glazeal width figure is unconfirmed, the two width allowances cannot be ranked against each other. If you want both widths published rather than just the opening, the Tuxihapp 4PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps gives both 83mm inner and 103mm outer — though that listing also states crossbars up to 3.34 inches, which is wider than its own opening, so check with the manufacturer which figure holds. And if you only need the plates — square bars up to 2-1/4 inches, 304 stainless — the 8 Pcs Roof Rack Mounting Brackets is the repair-and-adapt answer.
There is no single winner in this group, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest: these products solve different steps of the same problem. Measure your roof, measure your bars, then buy the part that your carrier's, rack's and vehicle's instructions approve and whose published numbers clear yours.
Sources & Methodology
Nobody at this website bolted a clamp to a crossbar or put a load on a rack — there is no workshop here and no laboratory, and we say that plainly rather than implying otherwise. What was done for this page is documentary: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each of the six ASINs was retrieved on 2026-09-06, every published listing feature bullet was read, and the dimensional figures were compared against one another arithmetically — rated rack widths, thickness ceilings, stud spacings and stated exclusions.
For a fitment category, that kind of research is unusually well matched to the question. Roof mounting is decided by numbers a manufacturer publishes and a buyer can verify with a tape measure, so a close reading of the specifications tells you what will physically bolt together. It does not tell you how a part ages over five winters, and where a listing publishes no figure — load ratings for the clamp and bracket kits, required crossbar spread — this guide leaves the gap open rather than filling it.