As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks Comparison Table
| Product | Best For | Capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black | Hitch owners who need rear-door access | 12.5 cu ft, 200 lb | |
| Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Rain-heavy routes, no roof rack | 20 cu ft | |
| Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Lower-volume rooftop hauling, rack or no rack | 15 cu ft | |
| Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" | Heavy, dirty or bulky gear | 16 cu ft bag, stated to support up to 500 lbs | |
| Mockins XL 30 CuFt All-Weather Trailer Hitch Cargo Carrier Bag | Maximum soft-bag volume | 30 cu ft |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
For occasional trips, compare the carrier's approved fit and load limits with the storage space and handling help you actually have. A foldable bag may suit limited storage; a rigid box may suit other needs. Trip frequency alone does not determine the right carrier, and the supplied listings do not establish universal fitting or removal times.
Everything below is drawn from the manufacturers' published listing specifications — capacities, dimensions, materials, included hardware — retrieved on 2026-09-06. This website does not do product research, so you will not find timed loading trials or drag measurements here. You will find close reading of what each maker actually claims, and a blunt take on who each one fits.
Here is the thing about occasional use: the specs that matter most are not the ones brands shout about. Capacity is easy to compare and easy to over-buy. The details that decide whether you enjoy the trip are the mounting method, whether the thing folds down, and how you get at your luggage once it is loaded.
Every product below links to its own Amazon listing. Before choosing, confirm the complete approved vehicle, roof or receiver, carrier and mounting combination, all clearances and every manufacturer-defined load limit, counting equipment and cargo as each requires. A hook, receiver diameter, capacity or vehicle category alone is insufficient; obtain missing dimensions and ratings and follow approved handling instructions. For rented or leased vehicles, confirm the permitted installation and use with the provider.
- Heavy duty hitch cargo box on a rugged swingaway
- Frame swings out for clear access to the back of your vehicle
- 【2024 NEW VERSION】With all features fully upgraded, we could confidently promise that our Asinking "Ultimate Version" Rooftop Cargo Bag will impress you with it's top-rated
- 【IPX66 RATING WATERPROOF】 Resulting from more than 200 tests, we finally upgrade the water resistance rating to IPX66, combine 900D double-coated abraison-resistant PVC laminated
- [840D CHAMPION QUALITY MATERIAL] Made with heavy-duty 840D abrasion-resistant PVC fabric, this ultra-durable car roof cargo carrier stands up to any rough treatment or harsh
- [MORE THAN WATERPROOF] Featuring waterproof zipper wrapped with 6 inches widened velcro zipper flaps, our vehicle cargo carriers will exceed your expectations with the waterproof
- 500 LBS Heavy Duty Capacity – Built to support up to 500 lbs, this hitch cargo carrier provides extra storage space for luggage, camping gear, coolers, tools, sports equipment
- Large Waterproof Cargo Bag Included – Comes with a 16 cu. ft. soft shell waterproof bag measuring 58"L x 19"W x 24"H to help protect your cargo from rain, dirt, road dust, and
- EXTRA LARGE CARGO BAGS : Pack even more for every journey with the Mockins Cargo Carrier Bag featuring 30 cubic feet of dry storage in a 60"L x 24"W x 36"H design. This cargo
- CARGO BAGS FOR TRAVEL & TRUCK BED WATERPROOF STORAGE : The Mockins Hitch Mount Cargo Carrier Bag uses abrasion-resistant vinyl to resist fading & corrosion. With a massive
- 【840D CHAMPION QUALITY MATERIAL】 Made with heavy-duty 840D abrasion-resistant PVC fabric, this ultra-durable car roof cargo carrier stands up to any rough treatment or harsh
- 【MORE THAN WATERPROOF】 Featuring waterproof zipper wrapped with 6 inches widened velcro zipper flaps, our vehicle cargo carriers will exceed your expectations with the waterproof
- 【100% Waterproof & Heavy-Duty Material】 Made with upgraded durable 840D PVC material and high-frequency welded seams, features a double-layered waterproof cover, this rooftop
- 【More Secure with 10 Reinforced Straps & 6 Door Hooks】 Upgraded safety system
- 𝟭𝟬𝟬% 𝗪𝗮𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗼𝗳 & 𝗧𝗲𝗮𝗿𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗼𝗳 𝗠𝗮𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗶𝗮𝗹 - Crafted from 100% waterproof 900D PVC tarpaulin and every part of seams are reinforced with high-frequency
- 𝗘𝗮𝘀𝘆 𝘁𝗼 𝗨𝘀𝗲 - Our
The Ten Carriers, Reviewed From Their Specifications
StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black — Best for hitch owners who still need to open the tailgate
Most hitch boxes force a choice: carry the gear, or open the back of your vehicle. This one is built around not making that choice. The listing describes a heavy duty hitch cargo box on a rugged swingaway frame, and states the frame swings out for clear access to the back of your vehicle. If you are travelling with a dog, a cooler you keep raiding, or a hatchback that is also your changing room at the trailhead, that single design decision is worth more than a few cubic feet.
The published numbers are modest but honest: the manufacturer states it holds up to 12.5 cubic feet and 200 lbs of gear, and measures 49 x 21 x 24 inches. That is a limited capacity for the StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black, and it is a hard-sided box rather than a bag, so it will not stretch. The upside is the fittings. The listing says the box includes a locking latch, taillights, license plate bracket and drain plug for cleaning — check the actual installed visibility and clearance requirements, and use the maker's approved cleaning procedure rather than assuming the drain permits hosing.
Two more listed facts separate this from the commodity end of the category: the manufacturer states it is made in the USA and carries a ten year warranty. Warranty length does not establish service life; consult the complete terms for coverage and exclusions. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Swingaway frame gives clear access to the back of the vehicle as described by the seller; follow the exact load and operating instructions
- Locking latch, taillights and license plate bracket are all included per the listing
- Drain plug makes post-trip cleaning straightforward
- Made in USA per the listing
- At 12.5 cubic feet, the stated capacity is limited; the 200 lb limit is a real ceiling for dense gear
- Requires a 2" hitch, so it is a non-starter for renters whose vehicle has no receiver
- A rigid box does not fold away, so you need somewhere to store 49 x 21 x 24 inches between trips
Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 21 Cubic Feet 100% Waterproof Heavy Duty 840D Car Roof Bag — Best for a big family haul on a bare roof
This is the straightforward one-trip roof bag. The manufacturer states it is made with heavy-duty 840D abrasion-resistant PVC fabric with triple-reinforced welded seams, and that the 21 cubic feet capacity works with vehicles with or without a roof rack. That last point is the whole reason people shop this category — if you are driving a rental or a car that came without crossbars, door-hook bags are one possible option only if the vehicle and carrier makers approve the exact interface and the rental provider permits it.
The waterproofing story here is specific rather than vague. The listing describes a waterproof zipper wrapped with 6 inches of widened velcro zipper flap. The supplied record does not establish a universal leak point or comparative protection from flap width. The seller claims this makes "zero leakage" possible even in downpours; treat that as the seller's claim rather than an independent verification, and pack anything irreplaceable in a dry bag anyway.
The listing includes padded door hooks. Padding alone does not establish damage-free attachment or permission to use them on a rental; confirm the exact approved installation. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- 21 cubic feet is among the larger rooftop capacities listed here
- Works with or without a roof rack per the manufacturer
- 6-inch widened velcro flap over the waterproof zipper
- Ships with an anti-slip mat, 6 padded door hooks, a lock and 2 spare straps
- The 840D fabric is a lighter denier than the 900D used on some bags in this roundup, though the supplied listings do not compare their durability directly
- The supplied listing does not state the bag's exterior dimensions, so you cannot check it against your roof width before ordering
- The "zero leakage" language is a seller claim, not third-party verification
Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 15 Cubic Feet Waterproof Heavy Duty 840D Car Roof Bag — Best for buyers who want less volume
The smaller sibling, and for a lot of buyers the smarter purchase. The manufacturer states 15 cubic feet, built from the same heavy-duty 840D abrasion-resistant PVC fabric with triple-reinforced welded seams, and compatible with vehicles with or without a roof rack.
The Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 15 Cubic Feet Waterproof Heavy Duty 840D Car Roof Bag (ASIN B09MVXDV9B) lists 15 cubic feet but no exterior dimensions or vehicle-size recommendation. Obtain its actual dimensions and approved fit, load and packing requirements; volume alone does not establish fit, noise or stability. The separate FIVKLEMNZ listing's sizing bullet also contains inconsistent unit wording, so do not transfer its sizing advice to this bag.
The kit matches its bigger sibling with one difference worth catching: the listing says the package contains 1 roof top carrier bag, 1 storage bag, 1 anti-slip mat, 6 door hooks, 2 extra luggage straps and 1 luggage lock — door hooks, without the "padded" descriptor that appears on the 21 cubic feet version's bullet. Same 6-inch velcro zipper flap and 8 thickened adjustable straps are listed. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- The manufacturer states 15 cubic feet of capacity; the supplied listing states no exterior dimensions, so measure your roof before ordering
- Same 840D PVC fabric and triple-reinforced welded seams as the 21 cubic feet version
- Fits vehicles with or without a rack
- Includes mat, 6 door hooks, lock, storage bag and 2 spare straps
- Its own listing bullet does not describe the door hooks as padded, unlike the 21 cubic feet version's bullet
- 15 cubic feet is the smallest rooftop capacity in this group; whether your luggage fits requires its dimensions, the usable space and the opening
- No exterior dimensions are stated in the supplied listing
Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag – 20 Cubic Feet Waterproof Heavy Duty 900D Roof Bag — Best for buyers who want the exterior dimensions published
This one publishes its exterior dimensions alongside the capacity figure. The manufacturer states 20 cubic feet at 47.5"(L) x 39.5"(W) x 18.5"(H), which at least gives you a footprint to compare against your own roof. Overall length, width and height do not settle windshield overhang, roof curvature, door-hook geometry or crossbar clearance, so treat those numbers as a starting check rather than proof of fit.
The fabric steps up too. The listing describes 900D abrasion resistant PVC fabric, two waterproof closure zippers, 100% waterproof double stitching technology and waterproof double coating. Note the construction difference from the 840D bags above: this one describes double stitching where the others describe welded seams. The supplied facts establish no comparative leakage performance or reason for that construction choice.
The strap system reads as a revision rather than a fresh design. The manufacturer says it was upgraded from the original 10 fixed shoulder straps to adjustable interconnecting thicker and wider shoulder straps, and that the kit includes 1 roof tote, 1 storage bag, 1 anti-slip mat, 1 luggage lock, 6 safety hooks and 10 reinforcement straps. It folds into the storage bag when not in use — exactly what you want for a carrier that lives in a closet. The seller also states a three-year window for after-sales support. One caution: the listing claims it offers "more versatility than any other car roof cargo carrier," which is marketing, not a comparison anyone has substantiated. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Publishes full exterior dimensions of 47.5" x 39.5" x 18.5" so you can compare the footprint against your roof in advance
- 900D PVC fabric, a higher denier figure than the 840D bags listed here, though the supplied listings do not compare their durability directly
- Two waterproof closure zippers plus double coating
- 10 reinforcement straps and 6 safety hooks included
- Folds into the included storage bag between trips
- Seams are described as double stitched rather than welded, unlike several other bags here
- The "more versatility than any other car roof cargo carrier" claim is unsupported by any comparison in the listing
FIVKLEMNZ 21 Cubic Rooftop Cargo Carrier Waterproof Soft Car Roof Bag — Best for published dimensions of 52 x 40 x 18 inches with 10 reinforced straps
The FIVKLEMNZ product title and capacity bullet state 21 cubic feet, but the size-selection bullet says "15 cubic" for small cars and uses "cubic meter" for its 21 and 30 SUV suggestions. That wording is inconsistent and does not provide reliable sizing advice. Confirm the intended units and exact vehicle fit with the manufacturer rather than silently converting the recommendations.
The bag itself is stated at 21 cubic feet measuring 52 x 40 x 18 inches, built from upgraded durable 840D PVC material with high-frequency welded seams and a double-layered waterproof cover. Those published dimensions are the practical check: 52 inches long by 40 wide is a meaningful footprint, and it is worth a tape measure across your roof before you order.
Security and stability hardware is generous on paper. The listing states 10 reinforced straps, 6 door hooks and an anti-slip mat, and the complete kit adds a luggage lock and a storage bag. The manufacturer says the 21 cubic feet fits 4 to 6 suitcases plus tents and sleeping bags, and describes installation as quick, taking minutes — that is the seller's characterisation, not a timing anyone here observed. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Publishes both capacity and dimensions: 21 cubic feet at 52 x 40 x 18 inches
- High-frequency welded seams and a double-layered waterproof cover
- 10 reinforced straps plus 6 door hooks and an anti-slip mat
- Published dimensions can help screen candidates; the sizing bullet's inconsistent units need manufacturer confirmation
- Fits vehicles with side rails, crossbars, or no rack at all
- 840D PVC, a lower denier figure than the 900D options in this roundup, though the supplied listings do not compare their finished durability
- The supplied listing does not state a warranty term, unlike the StowAway and Mockins listings
Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 100% Waterproof Non-Rip 20 Cubic Feet — Best for wet-weather routes with no roof rack
This is the most specific water-resistance claim in the group. The manufacturer of the Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 100% Waterproof Non-Rip 20 Cubic Feet (ASIN B0BJ6JHQWX) states it upgraded the water resistance rating to IPX66, combined with 900D double-coated abrasion-resistant PVC laminated tarpaulin, heat-welded overlapped seams, and a 3-sided watertight zipper with a generous storm flap. The seller attributes that wording to more than 200 of its own tests; the supplied listing names no standard, test method or certifying body behind the label, so treat it as the seller's own description rather than a verified rating.
The rack-free mounting is thought through. The listing says you install the included door hooks to the door frames and tie the bag down, with anti-scratch pads protecting door frame paint, plus a swivel ring-strap system and rigid POM buckles to keep cargo in place and minimise friction and noise. The pads are a listed feature, not proof of damage-free use or rental permission; obtain approval for the exact attachment and follow the vehicle and bag instructions.
The shape is the other differentiator: the manufacturer describes a curved, arch-shaped design intended to be aerodynamic, reducing noise, fuel loss and the risk of wind ripping. The listing publishes no drag or fuel figure, and the supplied evidence establishes no aerodynamic comparison; treat the shape wording as the seller's design claim. Capacity is stated as 20 cubic feet, and the only dimensional wording in the listing is the ambiguous "Based with 40 L x 52 W inches", which states no height and does not make clear which figure runs front to back. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Seller states an IPX66 water resistance rating, based on its own testing
- 900D double-coated PVC laminated tarpaulin with heat-welded overlapped seams
- 3-sided watertight zipper with a generous storm flap
- Seller describes anti-scratch door-hook pads; complete compatibility and damage-free attachment are not established by that claim
- Curved arch shape intended to cut noise and wind loading
- Ships with 4 door hooks, fewer than the 6 stated on several other bags in this roundup
- The IPX66 figure comes from the seller's own testing programme, not a third-party lab
- The listing states no strap count in its included-items list, unlike the 10-strap bags here
Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag 21 Cubic feet Waterproof Car Roof Top Bag — Best for 900D fabric with 10 reinforced straps and 6 door hooks
Same brand, larger bag, different hardware mix. The manufacturer states 21 cubic feet measuring 52" (L) x 40" (W) x 18" (H), crafted from 100% waterproof 900D PVC tarpaulin with every part of the seams reinforced by high-frequency welding. That combination of 900D fabric with welded rather than stitched seams is what the listing for the Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag 21 Cubic feet Waterproof Car Roof Top Bag (ASIN B0CFXW5K5L) publishes.
Compared with its 20 cubic feet stablemate above, this version's listing states 10 reinforced straps and 6 door hooks rather than 4 hooks. Hardware counts alone establish neither load distribution nor permitted routing. Follow the exact approved attachment method. This listing does not address the other model's IPX66 wording or shape claim; that omission does not establish inferior performance.
Capacity is described as luggage for 4 to 6 people, including tents, sleeping bags, suitcases, golf bags or foldable chairs — the soft shell flexes around odd shapes in a way a rigid box cannot. It also folds for storage, with a combination lock included to stop the zipper sliding when you park overnight. Worth being clear-eyed about that: the supplied facts do not establish a measured level of theft resistance. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- 900D PVC tarpaulin with high-frequency welded seams throughout
- 10 reinforced straps and 6 door hooks for more tie-down options
- Published dimensions of 52" x 40" x 18" at 21 cubic feet
- Soft shell absorbs awkward loads like golf bags and folding chairs
- Folds down for storage between trips
- No IPX66 rating stated in this listing, unlike the 20 cubic feet Asinking bag
- No aerodynamic shaping described for this model
- The supplied facts state no independently verified theft-resistance level
Mockins XL 30 CuFt All-Weather Trailer Hitch Cargo Carrier Bag 60"x24"x36" — Best for maximum volume off the roof
Thirty cubic feet in a 60"L x 24"W x 36"H shape, which the manufacturer also expresses as a 224-gallon capacity. That is the largest stated capacity of any carrier in this roundup, and it sits on a hitch carrier rather than your roof — confirm the full installed and loaded height, rear clearance and approved handling method rather than assuming any clearance remains unchanged.
That last point deserves emphasis for renters. Roof bags change your clearance. Parking garages, drive-throughs and hotel entrances all become calculations you have to make while tired. A hitch bag moves the problem to the back of the vehicle, where you can see it.
Material is abrasion-resistant vinyl described as resisting fading and corrosion, with a waterproof zipper, a velcro rain flap and reinforced seams. Three buckle straps secure the bag and help prevent shifting, and the bundle includes a combination lock and a carry bag. The manufacturer states it folds into the included soft storage case, and backs it with a 10-year limited warranty — the only other decade-length warranty here besides the StowAway. It also doubles as truck bed storage, which is genuine dual purpose for pickup owners. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- 30 cubic feet is the largest stated capacity in this roundup
- Designed for a hitch platform or truck bed; verify full loaded clearances for the approved setup
- 10-year limited warranty per the manufacturer
- Folds into the included soft storage case between trips
- Doubles as waterproof truck bed storage
- It is a bag, not a carrier — you need a hitch cargo carrier or truck bed to put it on, and the listing does not state one is included
- Three buckle straps is the fewest tie-down count stated among the soft carriers here
- A 60 x 24 x 36 inch load hanging off the back adds real length to your vehicle for parking and reversing
Eylar SRX-175 Overlanding Cargo Case – 175L Waterproof Dry Box — Best for lockable, weatherproof gear storage that stacks
This is the outlier, and it earns its place for one reason: its listing specifically describes a rubber gasket. The manufacturer states a heavy-duty rubber gasket keeps contents dry in rain, mud, creek crossings and pressure washing. That is the seller's protection claim; the supplied facts do not establish a comparative result against fabric bags.
The listing publishes several figures for the Eylar SRX-175 Overlanding Cargo Case (ASIN B0DWZXYZWT): 175L capacity, external 47.2"L x 18.4"W x 17.9"H, internal 42.5" x 12.7" x 13.2", weight 38.5 lbs. Those stated internal dimensions multiply out to well under the 175L headline figure, so the listing's own numbers conflict; confirm the usable interior volume with the manufacturer before assuming your gear fits. The manufacturer says the external size fits most full-size truck beds and roof racks — note that, unlike the fabric bags above, the supplied listing describes no door hooks, straps or other mounting hardware at all, and no rack-free mounting method. The Eylar SRX-175 Overlanding Cargo Case (ASIN B0DWZXYZWT) listing states a weight of 38.5 lbs empty, before any gear is added; the supplied listing gives no handling, carry-handle or lifting guidance.
Usability features are unusually well thought out for occasional trips. A gas strut lid stays propped open so you can load with both hands. Four heavy-duty lockable latches accept padlocks, which are sold separately. Two removable organizer trays plus a divider and a cargo net keep small items from becoming a landslide. There is a built-in drain plug that lets it work as an improvised cooler with ice, and it stacks flat top-to-bottom. The manufacturer states a 30-day return policy, and four colours. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Seller claims a rubber gasket keeps contents dry in rain, mud and pressure washing; no independent result is supplied
- Four padlock-compatible latches are listed; no measured theft-resistance level is supplied
- Gas strut lid stays open for two-handed loading
- Two removable organizer trays, a divider and a cargo net included
- Drain plug doubles the case as an improvised cooler
- 38.5 lbs empty before you pack anything
- Rigid and non-folding, so it takes 47.2 x 18.4 x 17.9 inches of storage space year-round
- The listing describes fitting truck beds and roof racks and stacking without shifting, but names no mounting hardware or tie-down system, and describes no rack-free mounting method
- The manufacturer states a 30-day return policy, and the supplied listing states no longer warranty term
- Padlocks are sold separately
Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" — Best for heavy or dirty loads on a 2" hitch
This is the most complete package here for someone starting from nothing. The listing states the set includes a 60"L x 20"W x 6"H hitch mount cargo basket, a 16 cubic feet waterproof cargo bag measuring 58"L x 19"W x 24"H, a cargo net with attachment hooks, ratchet straps, and a hitch stabilizer. A bundled set still requires confirmation of the complete vehicle, receiver, carrier and securement fit, limits and clearances.
The capacity figure that matters is not the volume. The manufacturer of the Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" (ASIN B0GT91PN5L) states the carrier is built to support up to 500 lbs, and lists luggage, camping gear, coolers, tools, sports equipment and travel bags among its intended loads. That is the accessory's own rating. Your usable load is also bounded by your vehicle's hitch receiver and tongue-weight ratings, which no supplied listing states, and reduced by the weight of the basket, the included bag, net and straps — check your vehicle's hitch ratings in its owner's manual before loading.
For occasional use, the folding design is the clincher among hitch options. The listing says the basket folds up when not in use, which makes daily driving and parking easier between trips. The included hitch stabilizer is aimed at reducing wobble, a known annoyance with hitch-mounted loads. It fits a 2" receiver on SUVs, trucks, vans and large vehicles — so, like the StowAway, it is off the table if your car has no hitch. Check Price on Amazon
Pros
- Listing states the carrier is built to support up to 500 lbs; your vehicle's hitch ratings apply on top of that
- Complete set: basket, 16 cu ft waterproof bag, cargo net, ratchet straps and hitch stabilizer
- Basket folds up when not in use for easier parking and storage
- Hitch stabilizer included to reduce wobble
- Keeps dirty or wet gear entirely outside the cabin
- Requires a 2" hitch receiver, ruling out most cars without a tow package
- The supplied listing does not state a warranty term
What to Look For in a Temporary Roof Cargo Carrier
Buying for two trips a year is a different problem from buying for a lifestyle. Five criteria, in the order they actually matter.
1. Mounting method comes before everything. If your vehicle has no roof rack — common on rentals and base-trim cars — you need a bag whose listing explicitly states compatibility with vehicles without racks. The 21 cubic feet 840D bag, the 15 cubic feet 840D bag, the 20 cubic feet 900D bag, the FIVKLEMNZ bag and both Asinking bags all state fitment with or without a roof rack. The Eylar SRX-175 listing, by contrast, states only that the case fits most full-size truck beds and roof racks and stacks securely without shifting; it describes no rack-free mounting method and no mounting hardware. Hitch products need a receiver: both the StowAway and the folding basket specify a 2" hitch.
2. Does it fold? For occasional use, storage volume between trips is a real cost. The 20 cubic feet 900D bag, the Asinking 21 cubic feet bag and the Mockins XL all state they fold into an included storage bag or case. The folding basket collapses when not in use. The StowAway box and the Eylar case do not fold and keep their full dimensions year-round.
3. Published dimensions beat published volume. Cubic feet tells you nothing about whether a bag overhangs your windshield. Only some listings publish exterior size: 47.5" x 39.5" x 18.5" for the 20 cubic feet 900D bag, 52 x 40 x 18 inches for both the FIVKLEMNZ and Asinking 21 cubic feet bags, 60"x24"x36" for the Mockins XL, 49 x 21 x 24 inches for the StowAway, and 47.2" x 18.4" x 17.9" external for the Eylar. The Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 100% Waterproof Non-Rip 20 Cubic Feet (ASIN B0BJ6JHQWX) listing gives only the ambiguous wording "Based with 40 L x 52 W inches", with no height stated and no unambiguous front-to-back dimension, so it is not a footprint you can check against your roof. Measure your roof, then read those numbers.
4. Read the seam construction, not the waterproof headline. Every soft bag here claims waterproofing. The methods differ. Welded seams are stated for the 840D bags, the FIVKLEMNZ bag and both Asinking bags; the 20 cubic feet 900D bag describes double stitching with a double coating instead. The most specific water wording is the Asinking 20 cubic feet bag's IPX66 designation, though that comes from the seller's own test programme, with no standard or test body named.
5. Match weight rating to your load, not your optimism. Roof bags in this group publish volumes but not weight limits. The two hitch products publish figures, but they are differently defined. The StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black states its box holds up to 200 lbs of gear. The Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" states the carrier is built to support up to 500 lbs. For each chosen setup, satisfy every vehicle, rack or receiver, mount and carrier limit using its own definition. Count equipment and cargo where required, including carrier and hitch hardware under applicable tongue-weight limits. Obtain missing empty weights and cargo ratings; a vehicle rating cannot replace an unknown accessory rating. For general guidance on product safety recalls and consumer rights, CPSC and USA.gov's consumer protection pages are the authoritative starting points.
How We Research
This site does not run a garage, a wind tunnel, or a test fleet, and nobody here has driven with any of these carriers. What we do is read the primary listing evidence closely. For every product above, we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record and each product listing feature bullet on 2026-09-06, then compared the published claims against each other: denier ratings, seam construction, capacity, exterior dimensions, included hardware counts, mounting requirements and warranty terms.
Where a listing publishes a number, we repeat it and attribute it. Where a listing is silent — no stated warranty, no stated exterior dimensions, no stated weight rating — we say so rather than guessing. Marketing superlatives like "more versatility than any other car roof cargo carrier" get flagged as marketing, because no comparison in the supplied evidence supports them.
Final Verdict
For most people reading this — renters, one-big-trip-a-year families, anyone without a roof rack — the Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag is one candidate, subject to confirmed complete fit and load limits. The reasoning is specific: it is built from 900D double-coated PVC laminated tarpaulin with heat-welded overlapped seams, its listing describes a 3-sided watertight zipper with a generous storm flap, and its door hooks include anti-scratch pads for door frame paint, which matters most on a car you do not own. Its stated volume does not establish that a particular family's luggage fits or how the bag behaves when partially filled.
If you want the same brand's fabric spec with more tie-down points, the Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag 21 Cubic feet Waterproof Car lists 10 reinforced straps and 6 door hooks in 900D welded-seam construction.
A 2" hitch alone does not decide the choice; confirm full fit, loads, clearances and handling requirements. The Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" is stated by its maker to support up to 500 lbs, folds up between trips and arrives with the bag, net, ratchet straps and stabilizer already in the box.
Recommendations by Use Case
- Smaller loads, rack or no rack: Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — the manufacturer states 15 cubic feet, and it fits with or without a rack; the listing states no exterior dimensions, so measure your roof first.
- SUV family vacation, no rack: FIVKLEMNZ 21 Cubic Rooftop Cargo Carrier Waterproof Soft Car Roof Bag — 21 cubic feet at 52 x 40 x 18 inches with 10 reinforced straps, and clarify the sizing bullet's inconsistent units and confirm the exact vehicle fit before using its capacity advice.
- Heavy rain on the route: Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — seller-stated IPX66 wording, with a 3-sided watertight zipper and generous storm flap.
- Want exterior dimensions published up front: Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — publishes 47.5" x 39.5" x 18.5" exterior dimensions, which give you a footprint to compare rather than a fitment guarantee. The Asinking Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 100% Waterproof Non-Rip 20 Cubic Feet (ASIN B0BJ6JHQWX) listing states only the ambiguous wording "Based with 40 L x 52 W inches", with no height and no unambiguous front-to-back dimension, so it does not give you a footprint to check.
- Frequent tailgate access with a hitch: StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black — the swingaway frame swings clear of the rear door, and it carries a ten year warranty.
- Maximum soft volume off the roof: Mockins XL 30 CuFt All-Weather Trailer Hitch Cargo Carrier Bag — 30 cubic feet, folds into its storage case, 10-year limited warranty.
- Muddy, wet gear that must stay locked: Eylar SRX-175 Overlanding Cargo Case — a seller-stated 175L that conflicts with the listed internal dimensions, plus a listed gasket and four padlock-compatible latches; resolve capacity and complete fit before purchase.
- Heavy or dirty gear on a 2" hitch: Hitch Mount Folding Trailer Cargo Carrier Basket 60" x 20" x 6" — stated to support up to 500 lbs, with a 16 cubic feet waterproof bag included; your vehicle's hitch ratings still apply.
- Big haul with padded hooks on a borrowed car: Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — 21 cubic feet with 6 padded door hooks and a 6-inch velcro zipper flap.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, several bags here state that explicitly. The 21 cubic feet and 15 cubic feet 840D bags, the 20 cubic feet 900D bag, the FIVKLEMNZ bag and both Asinking bags are all described by their manufacturers as compatible with vehicles with or without roof racks. They use door hooks that attach to the door frames instead of crossbars. The Asinking 20 cubic feet bag lists anti-scratch pads, but hooks and padding do not establish fit or damage-free use. Confirm the exact approved interface, roof configuration, dimensions, load limits and any rental restrictions.
What size cargo bag do I need for my vehicle?
Confirm exact vehicle and carrier compatibility, usable space and load limits with the manufacturers. The FIVKLEMNZ title and capacity bullet state 21 cubic feet, while its size-selection bullet uses inconsistent "cubic meter" wording for SUV suggestions; obtain clarification rather than treating those suggestions as verified sizing guidance. Some other bags supply no exterior dimensions, so roof measurement alone cannot establish fit.
Are cargo bags actually waterproof in heavy rain?
The sellers all claim so, with varying specificity. The most specific wording is the Asinking 20 cubic feet bag's IPX66 designation, which the manufacturer attributes to its own programme of more than 200 tests rather than to a named standard or an independent lab. Others describe the mechanism: a waterproof zipper with a 6-inch widened velcro flap on the 840D bags, two waterproof zippers with double coating on the 20 cubic feet 900D bag, and a 3-sided watertight zipper with storm flap on the Asinking 20 cubic feet bag. Pack electronics in a separate dry bag regardless.
Is a hitch carrier better than a roof bag for occasional trips?
Compare the exact approved systems rather than receiver diameter alone. StowAway lists a 200-lb gear capacity and the folding basket a 500-lb support rating; satisfy every applicable limit with carrier, hardware and cargo weights counted as defined. Confirm installed clearances and handling for hitch options, and complete roof/interface fit and load limits for bags. Neither category is universally compatible.
Can I still open my trunk or tailgate with a hitch carrier installed?
With the StowAway, yes by design — the manufacturer states the frame swings out for clear access to the back of your vehicle. Confirm actual loaded clearance and follow the maker's swingaway operating and load instructions. The supplied listings for the other hitch products do not describe a swing-away function.
Which carrier stores most easily between trips?
The folding options. The 20 cubic feet 900D bag folds into its storage bag when not in use, the Asinking 21 cubic feet bag is stated to be foldable for convenient storage, the Mockins XL folds into an included soft storage case, and the hitch basket folds up when not in use. The StowAway box and the Eylar SRX-175 are rigid and keep their full dimensions year-round.
Do any of these come with a real warranty?
The StowAway Standard Cargo Carrier with SwingAway Frame for 2" Hitch- Black states a ten year warranty. The Mockins XL 30 CuFt All-Weather Trailer Hitch Cargo Carrier Bag states a 10-year limited warranty. The Eylar SRX-175 Overlanding Cargo Case listing states a 30-day return policy, which is a return window rather than a warranty term. The Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag – 20 Cubic Feet Waterproof Heavy Duty 900D Roof Bag listing states that if there is any problem with the roof bag within 3 years, the seller will provide a solution, which is an after-sales support period rather than a stated warranty term. The remaining listings supplied here do not state a warranty length, which means it is not stated in this listing information — not that no warranty exists.
Sources & Methodology
Nobody at this website has strapped one of these carriers to a car, driven it through rain, or put a scale under a loaded basket — we do not physically or laboratory-test products, here or on any other page. What went into this article was a line-by-line reading of each carrier's Amazon Creators API verified product record and every product listing feature bullet published for it, retrieved on 2026-09-06, then a structured comparison of the claims that can actually be set side by side: denier and seam construction, capacity in cubic feet, external dimensions, hardware counts, mounting requirements and stated warranty terms.
That approach has clear limits and clear strengths for this category. It cannot tell you how loud a bag is at 70 mph or whether a zipper survives its fifth season. It identifies which listings claim rack-free mounting, while complete fit still requires manufacturer confirmation, which ones publish dimensions you can check against your own roof, which one's seller states an IPX66 designation, and what weight figure each hitch product's maker publishes — and for a purchase you will make once and use twice a year, those published differences are what separate a good decision from an expensive guess.