As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Key Published Spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft | Dual-side opening and an adjustable mounting track | 11 cu ft; a listing bullet states aero, square, round and most factory racks | Check Price on Amazon |
| TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys | Maximum volume, with dimensions and a load figure published | 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H; 150 lb load capacity | Check Price on Amazon |
| Taelakeni 2 Pairs Kayak Carrier Racks | A stated product maximum load figure | 150 lb max load; flat/square crossbars only | Check Price on Amazon |
| HmmtyRack Lockable Roof Rack Cross Bars Compatible with Jeep Cherokee | Jeep Cherokee owners needing a rated crossbar base — this is a crossbar set, not a cargo carrier | 220 lb (100 kg) stated capacity; aluminum, lockable | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Here's the thing about running a cargo box and kayak on the same roof rack: you have two problems, weight and space. A roof gives you a fixed span between the towers, and a cargo box takes up part of it. Whether any particular pairing works has to be settled against an explicitly approved layout: the actual mounted footprint of the box and of the carrier on your bars, the positions each manufacturer approves for its own product, the loaded boat's envelope and access clearance, and every stated limit — vehicle, rack, mount and carrier — holding as each is defined, with the crossbars and empty carriers counted in. The supplied listings do not state mounted footprints or approve any off-centre box position, so none of that can be settled from the figures on this page.
This roundup covers ten products from that ecosystem: two hard-shell cargo boxes, two J-bar kayak carriers, two soft rack pad kits, one vehicle-specific crossbar set, two U-bolt clamp kits for mounting a box, and one wall hanger for the off-season. Every specification below comes from the manufacturer's published Amazon listing, retrieved 2026-09-06. Nobody on this site handled, installed or drove with any of them, and we say that plainly because the numbers do the work here anyway.
What you'll find: a quick picks table, a section on each product with what its published specs do and don't state, a buying-criteria section on what you need to confirm before you buy, and a use-case verdict at the end.
- CRITICAL SAFETY REMINDER: Maximum Load: 150 LBS | For Flat/Square Crossbars Only. Must use tie-down straps & fully fasten all screws. Check tightness before driving, no
- Kayak Roof Racks: This kayak carrier designed to mount on virtually all crossbars and load bars on the market except round bar
- Applicable car models:Compatible with Jeep Cherokee 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 , including Latitude Latitude Plus Limited North Edition Trailhawk High
- Security and Durability:HmmtyRack roof rack cross bars is upgarded with locking feature for security and made from high grade aluminum, base feet are made of high quality plastic
- KAYAK CAR TOP CARRIER A simple, A practical solution to carrying your kayak solution to carrying your kayak QUANTITY: 2 PAIRS
- SECURITY FEATURES:in order to ensure that customers have a good trip and safe, this product USES the loose to prevent the installation of the screw, each 2 sets of Mounting
- Universal Fitment: No longer do you need an expensive fixed roof rack system! HEYTRIP soft roof racks are ideally suited for carrying your kayak/surfboard/SUP/canoe to your
- The Tighter The Safer: 2 * 15ft tie-down adjustable straps with padded cam locks provide secure gripping for your load. 2 * 15ft bow & stern tie-down rope ensure that your
- Ultimate Versatility for All Your Gear : This universal car roof rack is the perfect solution for transporting kayaks, surfboards, SUPs, canoes, snowboards, and more; Designed to
- Heavy-Duty Cargo Mat for Maximum Protection: Built with durable 1680D fabric and reinforced PVC coating; this EVA foam cargo mat provides a soft, protective surface for your gear
- 【Fitment of Roof Rack Clamps】Roof box u-bolt clips are suitable for most cars
- 【High Quality】Our u-bolt roof rack clamps made of stainless steel and plastic, wear-resistant, temperature-resistant, not easy to rust, not easy to break deformation, durable
- SMART STORAGE - Keep your home and workspace clear of clutter with the Large Rhino-Rack Wall Hanger. The Wall Hanger allows you to mount and store your luggage box, tray, kayak
- WALL MOUNT - The Rhino-Rack Large Wall Hanger can be mounted to most types of walls including brick, wood, and drywall. Make sure for regular drywall walls, you use a stud finder
Can You Really Carry Cargo and a Kayak Together?
Only within a layout every manufacturer involved approves, and three things have to line up. First, the carrier has to hold the boat in a position its maker approves — a J-cradle is one such carrier, not the only method. Second, the box's mounted footprint, the carrier's mounting footprint and the loaded boat's envelope all have to fit within the positions the box, rack and vehicle makers approve on your bars — a narrow box does not on its own establish that. Third, the combined weight of box, boat, gear, crossbars and carriers has to satisfy every applicable limit as each is defined — vehicle, rack, mount and carrier — with the crossbars, the empty box and the empty cradles included, and no allowance under one limit transferring to another; read your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit in your owner's manual. And all three have to hold within a layout the vehicle, rack, box and cradle makers actually approve, which the supplied listings do not establish for any combination here.
A J-cradle is one such carrier, not the only method, and the supplied listings do not establish that a J-style carrier is what makes a shared cargo-plus-kayak layout work. Taelakeni describes its J-bar design as securing the kayak on its side, consuming minimal space on the load bar [S12], and the other J-bar set here makes the same claim, calling it an optimally sized J style carrier that leaves roof space [S4]. Those seller descriptions do not establish the actual mounted envelope of your boat and cradle or prove a shared layout fits.
The box side of the equation is where people get burned. Look at the numbers.
Roof Box Width and Crossbar Fit, Side by Side
| Product | Volume | Stated Dimensions | Load Capacity | Bar Compatibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, Roof Rack, Roof Box, Cargo Box, hard shell | 11 cu ft | Not stated in the supplied listing | Not stated in the supplied listing | A listing bullet states aero, square, round and most factory racks; the verified title names aero and square |
| TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys | 13.4 cu ft | 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H | 150 lbs | Crossbars up to 2.36" max width |
The TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys publishes a hard width figure — 27.6 inches [S7]. The supplied listing information for the INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, Roof Rack, Roof Box, Cargo Box, hard shell does not state a width [S5]. That is an overall shell dimension, not the box's mounted footprint on the bars, and the supplied listings state neither a permitted crossbar span nor a cradle mounting footprint or loaded-kayak envelope, so it cannot be subtracted from a bar length to decide whether a J-cradle pair fits alongside.
INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, Roof Rack, Roof Box, Cargo Box, hard shell — Best for dual-side opening and an adjustable mounting track
INNO lists this box at 11 cu ft with a low-profile shape. For the INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, the verified product title states compatibility with aero and square bars, and a listing bullet states it fits aero, square, round, and most factory racks [S5] — the bullet is the fuller statement and the title a subset of it. Confirm the approved configuration for your own bars with INNO before ordering. Bar profile matters more than it sounds here, because both J-bar carriers restrict you: one is not suitable for circular crossbars under 1.2 inches in diameter [S4], the other is for flat and square crossbars only [S12]. If your vehicle came with round factory bars, INNO's listing bullet states round-bar fit; confirm the approved configuration for your specific bars with INNO before ordering.
The track design is the feature to actually care about for a dual-load roof. INNO says the new track design makes it simple to adjust the box forward or back for hatch clearance and provides a better seal against weather [S5]. Fore-aft adjustment is not the same as side-to-side clearance, but on a roof where you're also juggling a kayak cradle, being able to slide the box off the hatch swing arc is one less compromise to make.
INNO states dual-side opening for easy access to your cargo [S5]; whether either side stays accessible alongside a kayak depends on the approved layout for your own vehicle, which the supplied facts do not establish. And INNO states the safety lock allows you to pull the keys out once the box has been closed all the way [S5]. That is an attributed listing feature, not a guarantee that the box is correctly closed or installed — follow INNO's own closing and installation instructions.
Pros
- A listing bullet states it fits aero, square, round, and most factory racks, with the verified title naming aero and square [S5]
- Dual-side opening for access from either side [S5]
- Adjustable track for hatch clearance and a better weather seal [S5]
- INNO states the safety lock allows you to pull the keys out once the box has been closed all the way; the listing does not state that the key is retained otherwise, so this is not a check that the lid is shut [S5]
- Limited lifetime warranty [S5]
- The supplied listing information for the INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, Roof Rack, Roof Box, Cargo Box, hard shell does not state exterior dimensions or a load capacity, so there are no published figures to work from; note that an overall width would not be the box's mounted footprint in any case, and no supplied listing states a permitted crossbar span
- At 11 cu ft it holds less than the 13.4 cu ft TUFFIOM [S5][S7]
Verdict: Buy this if you want a locking box that can slide clear of your hatch; a listing bullet states aero, square, round and most factory rack fit [S5], and the approved configuration for your own bars is worth confirming with INNO. INNO doesn't publish a width in the supplied listing, so whether it leaves room for a cradle is something only your own measurements and the manufacturers' approved positions can settle.
TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys — Best for maximum volume when you know your bar spacing
This is the box for people who plan with a tape measure. TUFFIOM publishes 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H, 13.4 cu ft of capacity and a 150 lb load rating [S7]. Those are overall shell dimensions rather than the box's mounted footprint on the bars, and the listing states no permitted crossbar span, so they cannot be subtracted from a bar length to work out what a J-cradle pair would have left to it.
The fitment spec is unusually precise and you should read it twice. Applicable crossbars are a maximum of 2.36 inches wide, and the listing states a maximum distance between the box's bottom mounting holes for installation of 40.94 inches and a minimum of 15.35 inches [S7]. Read that carefully: it is stated as a dimension of the box's own bottom mounting holes, not as a permitted crossbar spacing, so the supplied listing does not confirm that any given bar-to-bar spacing is approved — measure your bars and confirm fit with TUFFIOM before ordering.
The box itself is ABS and weighs approximately 24.25 lbs, which TUFFIOM frames as light enough to lift and install without difficulty [S7]. Note that the box's own weight counts too: for the TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys, roughly 24.25 lbs empty plus up to 150 lbs of permitted contents is already on the roof before the kayak goes on. The supplied facts contain no vehicle dynamic roof load limit — and that limit also has to carry the crossbars and the empty carriers — so obtain every missing vehicle, rack, mount, box and cradle limit and weight; satisfy each limit as its maker defines it before deciding whether a boat can be added. Locks sit on both sides with keys included, and bottom stiffeners are cited as strengthening stability [S7].
Pros
- Publishes full exterior dimensions — 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H [S7]
- 13.4 cu ft, the larger of the two boxes here [S7]
- 150 lb load capacity with locks on both sides and keys included [S7]
- Approximately 24.25 lbs empty, which TUFFIOM presents as manageable to lift into place [S7]
- Distances stated for the box's own bottom mounting holes: 15.35" minimum and 40.94" maximum [S7]
- Crossbars wider than 2.36" will not fit [S7]
- The listing states only a minimum and maximum distance between the box's bottom mounting holes for installation — 15.35" and 40.94" — and does not state a permitted crossbar spacing, so confirm fit with TUFFIOM before ordering [S7]
Verdict: The right box for a planner with a known bar span and a real weight budget, since it publishes overall dimensions and a stated load capacity — noting that an overall width is not a mounted footprint, and that TUFFIOM does not state a permitted crossbar spacing.
Taelakeni 2 Pairs Kayak Carrier Racks, Universal Cars Kayak Roof Rack — Best for a plainly stated product maximum load
Taelakeni leads its listing with a safety reminder rather than a marketing line, and it's the more useful approach: maximum load 150 lbs, flat and square crossbars only, straps mandatory, all screws fully fastened, tightness checked before driving, no overloading [S12]. The supplied listing does not state whether that 150 lb figure is per kayak, per cradle or for the set, so it is not directly comparable with the figure published for the 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack.
The bar restriction is the gate. Taelakeni states the carrier mounts on virtually all crossbars and load bars on the market except round bar [S12]. If you're running the INNO WEDGE660 on round factory bars, these cradles are out — that's not a defect, it's a compatibility fact you need before you order.
Construction is steel with a baking finish that Taelakeni describes as giving stronger anti-corrosion ability [S12], plus sponge pads and bottom rubbers for hull protection and carrying strength [S12]. The company says the entire rack installs or removes in 3 minutes thanks to a bottom flange thread design [S12]. That is the manufacturer's stated installation and removal time; the supplied facts establish nothing about how often owners remove the cradles or about any measured effect on drag. Follow Taelakeni's own installation and removal instructions.
Pros
- Taelakeni states a maximum load of 150 lbs for this carrier [S12]
- J-bar geometry secures the kayak on its side, consuming minimal load-bar space [S12]
- Steel with a baking finish for anti-corrosion, plus sponge pads and bottom rubbers [S12]
- Manufacturer states 3-minute install or removal via bottom flange threads [S12]
- Rated by Taelakeni for kayaks, canoes, surfboards, ski boards and snowboards [S12]
- Flat and square crossbars only — round bars are explicitly excluded [S12]
- Straps are required and Taelakeni does not state that any are included in the supplied listing information
Verdict: Choose this if you have flat or square bars, want a plainly stated maximum load figure, and value pulling the hardware off between trips.
J-Bar Kayak Cradle Set (ASIN B0725Z9LSB) — What its own listing states: two pairs of cradles
The listing bullet for ASIN B0725Z9LSB states "QUANTITY: 2 PAIRS" [S4]. The title and feature bullets for ASIN B0725Z9LSB do not consistently describe the included tie-down package; confirm the supplied components with the seller before ordering [S4]. A listing bullet for that same product describes ratchet rope "Before and after the configuration", and another listing bullet for it states it includes all mounting hardware and 2 straps [S4]. The supplied information does not settle how many tie-downs ship with two pairs of cradles, so confirm that with the seller before ordering. The strap the listing describes is specified at 1 inch wide and 10 feet long, with what the seller calls factory tested tie down straps at 600 lb break strength [S4]. Note the scope carefully: that's a break-strength figure published by the seller, not an independent certification, and break strength is not working load.
The fit envelope is spelled out: it accommodates kayaks up to 36 inches wide and 100 lbs, and fits most factory or aftermarket square, oval and flat crossbars [S4]. Those are the listing's stated figures; the supplied facts say nothing about how many kayaks fall inside that width, so measure your own boat rather than assuming it fits. The listing does not say whether the 100 lb figure applies per boat, so ask the seller before planning a tandem around it.
Two installation constraints deserve your attention before checkout. The listing for B0725Z9LSB states in its own words that "This product is not suitable for installation on circular cross bar with diameter less than 1.2 inches" [S4]. That exclusion does not amount to a statement that round bars of 1.2 inches or more are approved, so confirm round-bar fit with the seller. The same listing states that the roof and crossbar must have a 3-inch space reserved to ensure smooth installation [S4]. The listing does not define how that 3-inch space is measured, so confirm it with the seller rather than assuming it is roof-to-bar clearance. Construction is steel with adjustable padding, a wide-mouth J bar for loading, and a rust-resistant coating across all surfaces and hardware [S4].
Pros
- Two pairs of cradles plus mounting hardware in one purchase; the same listing's title and bullets disagree on how many tie-downs are included, so confirm the count with the seller [S4]
- The listing for the 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack states it accommodates kayaks up to 36" wide and 100lbs, without specifying whether that weight is per kayak or for the load [S4]
- Tie-down strap described by the seller as 1" wide and 10 ft long with a 600 lb break strength, though the listing does not state the number of straps consistently [S4]
- Fits most square, oval and flat crossbars [S4]
- Wide-mouth J bar and quick on/off hardware for faster loading and removal [S4]
- The stated 100 lb kayak figure is not defined as per boat or per set in the supplied listing [S4]
- The listing states the roof and crossbar must have a 3-inch space reserved for installation, without defining how that space is measured [S4]
- Not suitable for round bars under 1.2 inches in diameter [S4]
Verdict: Worth considering if the two pairs of cradles stated in the B0725Z9LSB listing suit your needs — provided you've checked with the seller how that listing's 3-inch space requirement applies to your rack.
HmmtyRack Lockable Roof Rack Cross Bars Compatible with Jeep Cherokee 2014-2023 — Best for Jeep Cherokee owners building a rated base
Everything above is useless if the bars underneath aren't rated for the total. HmmtyRack states 100 kg / 220 lbs of load capacity for this crossbar set [S9]. Separately, TUFFIOM states its box weighs approximately 24.25 lbs empty and is rated for 150 lbs of contents [S7]. These are separately defined figures, and neither is your vehicle's own dynamic roof load limit, which is a different limit that also has to carry the crossbars and empty carriers themselves — check your owner's manual for that number before working out what you can actually load.
Fitment is specific and non-negotiable. It's built for the Jeep Cherokee 2014 through 2023 including Latitude, Latitude Plus, Limited, North Edition, Trailhawk, High Altitude, Altitude and Lux trims, and explicitly not for the Jeep Grand Cherokee [S9]. HmmtyRack asks you to check year, make and model before buying [S9]. Confirm your exact year, model, trim and roof attachment type, and confirm compatibility with the specific carrier you intend to mount — a listed model on its own does not approve any particular load.
The bars are high-grade aluminum with plastic base feet and a locking feature [S9]. HmmtyRack claims aluminum is on average 30% lighter than steel and that these crossbars withstand greater stresses than the best all-steel roof rack at one-third less weight [S9] — that's a manufacturer comparison with no baseline product named, so treat it as a marketing claim rather than a verified benchmark. The front crossbar is longer than the rear to match the vehicle's taper, and installation needs only a screwdriver with no drilling [S9]. HmmtyRack names roof boxes, bike carriers, surfboards, kayaks and canoes among intended loads [S9], which is the combination this article is about.
Pros
- 220 lb (100 kg) stated load capacity for the HmmtyRack Lockable Roof Rack Cross Bars Compatible with Jeep Cherokee 2014-2023 (B0C1P92L6Q) — that figure is the crossbar set's own rating, not a load budget for box plus boat, and it is not your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit, which the supplied facts do not contain and which must also carry the bars, the empty box and the empty cradles [S9]
- Lockable, which matters when a cargo box and cradles live on the roof between trips [S9]
- High-grade aluminum bars with plastic base feet [S9]
- Installs with a screwdriver, no drilling [S9]
- HmmtyRack lists roof boxes, bike carriers and kayaks among supported loads [S9]
- Fits Jeep Cherokee 2014-2023 only and is explicitly not for the Grand Cherokee [S9]
- The comparison to all-steel racks names no specific baseline product, so it isn't a verifiable benchmark [S9]
Verdict: If you drive a 2014-2023 Cherokee (not Grand), this is a lockable aluminum crossbar set with a stated 220 lb (100 kg) capacity [S9]. Its supplied listing states no bar profile, width or thickness, so whether a given box, cradle or clamp kit will mount is something you have to settle by measuring the bars against that product's own stated fitment limits — the cradles, boxes and clamp kits here each state their own bar restrictions.
HEYTRIP Universal Soft Roof Rack Pads for Kayak/Surfboard/SUP/Canoe with 15FT Tie-Down Straps and Storage Bag — Best for carrying a kayak on a car with no rack system at all
Soft pads are the answer when the crossbars simply aren't there. HEYTRIP states a maximum weight load of 80 kg and says the pads work on almost any vehicle, with or without side rails or gutters [S6]. No tools are needed and everything required to attach the pads and hold the load ships in the box [S6].
The strap package is the substance here: two 15-foot tie-down straps with padded cam locks, plus two 15-foot bow and stern tie-down ropes for securing long loads to the front and back of the vehicle [S6]. HEYTRIP says the four ultra-long straps hold up to 1-3 shortboards, or 1-2 longboards or kayaks depending on size [S6]. Use every restraint the exact pad, boat and vehicle instructions require, attached and tensioned by their approved method; the supplied facts do not establish a general load-path analysis.
A built-in non-slip mat protects the roof from scratches and is said to reduce wind noise, with top-grade EVA foam cushioning the load and reducing vibration [S6]. HEYTRIP even offers the old paddler's trick in its own bullets: putting a twist in the straps helps reduce wind noise [S6]. The pads fold into the included storage bag when not in use [S6].
Be clear-eyed about what this is. HEYTRIP's supplied listing describes a tool-free kit of pads, straps and bow and stern lines that works on vehicles with or without side rails or gutters [S6]; it does not state how the straps route on the vehicle, so check the included fitting instructions for your car, and it does not present the pads as a mounting base for a hard-shell cargo box. This is the kayak-only or kayak-plus-interior-cargo path.
Pros
- 80 kg maximum load with no fixed rack system required [S6]
- Works on vehicles with or without side rails or gutters [S6]
- Four 15-ft straps including dedicated bow and stern lines [S6]
- Non-slip mat plus EVA foam to protect the roof and cut vibration [S6]
- Tool-free install, folds into the included storage bag [S6]
- Carries 1-2 kayaks depending on size, so capacity is load-dependent rather than fixed [S6]
- A soft pad system is not a mounting platform for a hard-shell cargo box
Verdict: For rackless cars where the kayak is the whole mission and cargo rides inside the vehicle.
Abahub Kayak Roof Rack Soft Roof Rack Pads for Car Kayak Surfboard 32 inch — What its listing states about the strap package
Abahub's pads are 32 inches and the listing itemises the straps in the kit. Quantities and lengths are all the listing states; they do not establish independent load paths, redundancy or safe restraint, and the supplied facts state no maximum load for this kit.
Materials are specified more concretely than most soft racks manage: durable 1680D fabric with a reinforced PVC coating over EVA foam, with a non-slip bottom that Abahub says minimizes movement, reduces noise and improves stability [S11]. The 1680D denier figure is a real spec, not a slogan, and it's the sort of detail that separates a listing worth reading from one worth skipping.
One thoughtful touch: the cam buckle carries a neoprene sleeve to protect vehicle and cargo from scratches, and Abahub advises throwing the strap end without the buckle when adjusting, to avoid accidental scratches [S11]. Fitment covers SUVs, sedans, hatchbacks and 2-door or 4-door cars, with or without side rails [S11].
The supplied listing information does not state a maximum load for this kit, and HEYTRIP's 80 kg figure does not transfer to it [S6][S11]. A maximum load is a safety-critical limit for anything carried on a roof, so ask Abahub for it, along with the approved attachment points and load arrangement for your vehicle, before loading.
Pros
- Eight straps total: 2x 13 ft cam-buckle, 4x 16 ft tie-downs, 2x T-shape loop straps [S11]
- 1680D fabric with reinforced PVC coating over EVA foam [S11]
- Neoprene-sleeved cam buckles to protect paint and hull [S11]
- Fits SUVs, sedans, hatchbacks and 2- or 4-door cars, with or without side rails [S11]
- Non-slip bottom to reduce movement and noise [S11]
- The supplied listing information states no maximum load rating — a safety-critical figure to obtain from Abahub before use, unlike HEYTRIP's stated 80 kg [S6][S11]
- Like any soft pad set, it is not a base for a hard-shell cargo box
Verdict: A soft-pad kit with a stated strap package and fabric spec — but the supplied listing states no maximum load, and a load-bearing roof carrier should not be chosen without that limit. Obtain the maximum load, the approved vehicle attachment and the approved load arrangement from Abahub before use.
ATNVIDSG Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps/Roof Rack Clamps car Truck Universal Stainless Steel U Brackets — Best for a no-drill box mounting kit with a stated 85 mm inner opening
U-bolt clamps are the unglamorous part that decides whether your box stays on the roof. ATNVIDSG publishes an inner width of 85 mm / 3.35 in and an outer width of 90 mm / 3.54 in, accommodating luggage racks up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick [S8]. The kit contains 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 hole sealing sticker [S8].
The inner opening is only the starting point. The ATNVIDSG Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state 85 mm / 3.35 in inside [S8]. The Glazeal 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state 82 mm / 3.23 in inside [S10]. Both figures are the brackets' own inner openings, not stated permitted bar widths, and neither listing states approval by any cargo-box maker — so measure your bar, confirm the permitted width with the seller, and confirm with your box and rack manufacturers which mounting interface, threads and retention hardware and which mounting positions are approved for your carrier.
ATNVIDSG says the brackets stabilize the roof box and prevent it dropping during driving, with a rubber gasket and plastic backing plate that protect the car from scratches and increase friction through potholes, mountain roads, slopes and highways [S8]. Materials are stainless steel and plastic, described as wear- and temperature-resistant and not prone to rust or deformation [S8]. No drilling is required [S8].
The listing itself flags that some buyers ordered without checking dimensions and were unhappy [S8]. That warning supports checking the exact dimensions and approved fit; it establishes neither unusually tight tolerances nor a failure rate.
Pros
- 85 mm / 3.35 in inner width, the wider of the two clamp kits covered here [S8][S10]
- Complete kit: 4 U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages, 1 sealing sticker [S8]
- Stainless steel and plastic construction, stated as rust- and deformation-resistant [S8]
- Rubber gasket and backing plate to protect paint and add friction [S8]
- No drilling required [S8]
- Fits racks only up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick, so thicker bars are excluded [S8]
- Fitment is dimension-critical and the listing urges measuring before purchase [S8]
Verdict: The ATNVIDSG Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state an 85 mm / 3.35 in inner opening and suit racks up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick [S8]; that inner opening is the bracket's own dimension rather than a confirmed permitted bar width, and the listing states no approval by any cargo-box maker, so measure your bar, confirm the permitted width with the seller, and confirm with your box and rack manufacturers which mounting hardware and positions are approved before ordering.
4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Glazeal Roof Box Rack Clamps Car Van Mounting Fitting Kit — What its listing states about dimensions and threads
Glazeal publishes the most granular fitment data of any product on this page: inner width 82 mm / 3.23 in, 90 mm / 3.54 in from screw-thread centre to centre, and 7.5 mm / 0.3 in (M8) screw diameter [S10]. It suits luggage racks up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick, and its stated width limit is internally inconsistent in the listing — 80 mm and 1.96 in are not the same measurement — so confirm the figure with the seller before ordering [S10]. Because that permitted width is unresolved, the listing's 82 mm inner opening cannot be read as suiting narrower bars. The M8 / 7.5 mm thread wording likewise needs clarifying with the maker rather than being treated as a fully specified assurance.
One exclusion is stated flatly: not suitable for Thule car racks [S10]. That's a rare and useful piece of honesty in a category full of "fits most vehicles" hand-waving, and it saves a return if you run Thule bars.
The rest is the expected kit — 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages and a hole sealing sticker [S10] — with rubber gaskets and plastic backing plates cited as increasing friction, reducing vibration, improving overall stability and protecting the box contents from violent shocks [S10]. Those 2 bandages are the same pair the listing elsewhere calls nylon straps, included to keep the box's contents safe [S10].
Against the ATNVIDSG kit, the stated inner openings differ: 82 mm versus 85 mm [S8][S10]. Those are the brackets' own openings. Neither record establishes a confirmed permitted bar width: Glazeal's stated width limit is inconsistent, and no approval by any cargo-box maker is supplied for either kit. A matching inner dimension does not establish that either kit is the required or approved mounting hardware for a given box — confirm the approved mounting interface, thread and retention specification and permitted positions with the box and rack manufacturers.
Pros
- 82 mm / 3.23 in stated inner opening, with screw wording given as 7.5 mm / 0.3 in (M8) and 90 mm thread centres — clarify the thread specification with the maker [S10]
- Fits racks up to approximately 40 mm thick; the listing's stated width limit is self-contradictory and needs confirming with the seller [S10]
- States plainly that it does not suit Thule car racks, saving a wrong order [S10]
- Stainless steel and plastic, described as wear- and temperature-resistant [S10]
- Complete kit: 4 stainless steel U-bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 back plates, 8 lock nuts, 1 hole sealing sticker and 2 straps, which the listing calls bandages in one bullet and nylon straps in another [S10]
- Not compatible with Thule car racks [S10]
- The 82 mm inner width differs from the ATNVIDSG kit's 85 mm [S8][S10]; dimensions alone do not decide compatibility, which requires the exact approved mounting interface and clarified limits
Verdict: A clamp kit with a stated 82 mm / 3.23 in inner opening, which is the bracket's own dimension rather than a confirmed permitted bar width — the same listing states a rack width limit that is internally inconsistent, so confirm the permitted width with the seller and the approved mounting interface with your box and rack manufacturers [S10] — and it states it is not suitable for Thule car racks.
Rhino Rack Wall Hanger Large Capacity Holds up to 176lbs for Roof Boxes Kayaks SUP Canoes & More — Best for storing the box and boat between seasons
Here's the part of a dual-load setup nobody plans for: where the box lives the other nine months. Rhino-Rack rates this wall hanger at a maximum payload of 176 lbs (80 kg) and names roof boxes, kayaks, paddle boards, canoes, surfboards, snowboards and skis among what it will hold [S3].
Separately, TUFFIOM states its box weighs approximately 24.25 lbs empty [S7]. Nothing in Rhino-Rack's supplied facts authorises storing a roof box and a kayak on one hanger at the same time, and nothing states the required orientation, contact or support arrangement, or the capacity of the wall structure it is fixed to. Storing more than one item is not a weight sum — get the supported combined arrangement, the fixing requirements and the wall's own capacity confirmed before hanging anything.
Rhino-Rack's own comparison bullet says other brands have a maximum load capacity of 50 to 100 pounds and that this hanger stores 76 to 126 lbs more [S3]. Fair warning: that's the manufacturer's characterisation of unnamed competitors, not a verified survey, and the supplied evidence doesn't identify which products it's comparing against.
Construction is electroplated powder-coated steel tube for outdoor corrosion resistance, with UV-stabilised padding — though Rhino-Rack notes fading may occur outdoors compared with indoor use [S3]. It mounts to most wall types including brick, wood and drywall, and Rhino-Rack specifically instructs using a stud finder to locate and secure into studs on regular drywall [S3]. Follow that instruction as written. All hardware and mounting brackets are included, an 11.5-foot (3.5 m) tie-down strap ships with it, and you may need a tape measure and drill/driver [S3].
Pros
- 176 lb (80 kg) maximum payload stated by Rhino-Rack [S3]
- Electroplated powder-coated steel with UV-stabilised padding for outdoor use [S3]
- Mounts to brick, wood and drywall, with all hardware and brackets included [S3]
- Includes an 11.5-foot tie-down strap for awkward or bulky items [S3]
- Rhino-Rack names roof boxes, kayaks, SUPs, canoes, surfboards, snowboards and skis as supported loads [S3]
- Drywall mounting requires locating studs with a stud finder — the rating assumes proper anchoring [S3]
- Rhino-Rack notes fading may occur with outdoor use versus indoor [S3]
- Installation may require a drill/driver and tape measure, unlike the tool-free items here [S3]
Verdict: For anyone who's ever tripped over a cargo box in the garage all winter — Rhino-Rack states a maximum payload of 176 lbs (80 kg) for the Rhino Rack Wall Hanger Large Capacity Holds up to 176lbs for Roof Boxes Kayaks SUP Canoes & More [S3]. The supplied facts do not state whether a box and a boat may be stored on it together, or the orientation, support and wall-structure requirements that would govern that, so confirm it with Rhino-Rack.
What to Look For in a Shared Cargo and Kayak Setup
Work through these in order. Skipping any one of them is how a setup ends up half-bought.
1. Every applicable limit versus your combined load. The HmmtyRack bars state 220 lbs [S9]. Separately, the TUFFIOM box is approximately 24.25 lbs empty [S7]. Your vehicle's own dynamic roof load rating is a differently defined figure that must also carry the crossbars and empty carriers, and the supplied product facts do not contain it. Get it from your owner's manual, and satisfy every vehicle, rack, mount and carrier limit as each is defined — no allowance under one transfers to another.
2. Crossbar profile, because it eliminates products outright. Round bars rule out the Taelakeni cradles entirely [S12] and rule out the other J-bar set below 1.2 inches diameter [S4]. For the INNO WEDGE660, a listing bullet states aero, square, round and most factory racks, with the verified title naming aero and square [S5]; confirm the approved configuration for your bars with INNO.
3. Box footprint and approved position against your bars. The TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys publishes an overall width of 27.6 inches [S7]; the supplied listing information for the INNO WEDGE660 does not state one [S5]. An overall width is not the box's mounted footprint, and none of the supplied listings states a permitted crossbar span or a cradle mounting footprint, so get the mounted footprints, the loaded boat's envelope and the approved mounting positions from the manufacturers rather than deriving fit by subtraction.
4. The stated 3-inch space requirement. The 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack listing says the roof and crossbar must have a 3-inch space reserved to ensure smooth installation, without defining how that space is measured [S4]. Confirm it with the seller before ordering.
5. Kayak weight and width against the cradle's ceiling. The 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack accommodates kayaks up to 36 inches wide and 100 lbs [S4]. Taelakeni separately states a 150 lb maximum load [S12]. The two listings do not define their figures the same way, so read each on its own terms and weigh your boat honestly.
6. Clamp dimensions if the box doesn't include mounting hardware. The ATNVIDSG Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state an 85 mm inner width and fit racks up to approximately 40 mm thick [S8]. The Glazeal 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state an 82 mm inner opening, a rack width limit the listing states inconsistently, and no suitability for Thule racks [S10] — measure your bar and confirm the width limit with the seller before ordering.
7. Off-season storage. The Rhino-Rack hanger states a 176 lb (80 kg) maximum payload [S3], and drywall installs need stud mounting [S3].
One broader point worth making: roof loads shift a vehicle's centre of gravity and affect handling, and consumer safety guidance for any load-bearing product starts with the manufacturer's own instructions and rated limits. The CPSC maintains general consumer product safety resources [S1], and USA.gov publishes consumer protection guidance including how to handle a product problem [S2]. Read your vehicle's roof load limit too: it is a separately defined figure, and every applicable limit — vehicle, rack, mount and carrier — has to hold as each is defined, with the crossbars and empty carriers counted in. No allowance under one limit transfers to another.
If you're still deciding between hard and soft systems, our guide to roof rack pads and crossbars for gear walks through the same tradeoff from the other direction.
How We Research
Every number in this article was read off the manufacturer's published Amazon listing for that exact ASIN and retrieved on 2026-09-06. We work from two source types only: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each product's title and identity, and the product listing feature bullets published by each manufacturer or seller.
We compare those published specifications against each other — the stated clamp inner openings against the rack thickness limits those same clamp listings state — and we say explicitly when a figure is a seller's own claim rather than an independent verification. Where the supplied listing does not state something, such as the INNO WEDGE660's exterior dimensions, we say the listing does not state it rather than guessing at a plausible number.
This site runs no lab and does no product research. Nobody here installed a crossbar, strapped a kayak, or drove with any of this hardware.
Final Verdict
If you want one recommendation for the specific problem in the headline — a cargo box and a kayak sharing one roof — start from the INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft and the Taelakeni 2 Pairs Kayak Carrier Racks, then check them against your own measurements. The reasoning is specification-driven, not preference: a listing bullet states the INNO fits aero, square, round and most factory racks [S5], it has dual-side opening [S5], and its adjustable track is stated to give hatch clearance [S5] — though it publishes no width, so whether it leaves room for a cradle can only be settled against the manufacturers' approved positions and your own measurements. Taelakeni separately states a 150 lb maximum load for its cradles [S12], which stand the boat on edge to consume minimal load-bar space [S12]. The catch, and it's a real one: Taelakeni is flat and square crossbars only [S12], so if your bars are round you keep the box and pair it with a different cradle.
If your priority is volume, the TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys at least publishes overall dimensions and a stated load capacity [S7] — though an overall width is not a mounted footprint, and TUFFIOM states no permitted crossbar spacing.
Whichever way you go, satisfy every manufacturer-defined vehicle, rack, mount, box and cradle limit together, counting equipment and cargo as each requires; no single rating establishes the full allowance. HmmtyRack states 220 lbs for its bars [S9]; TUFFIOM separately states its box weighs approximately 24.25 lbs empty [S7]. Your roof limit is a different figure, it also has to carry the bars and empty carriers, and only your owner's manual has it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Only within a layout the box, cradle, rack and vehicle makers approve. The supplied listings state no mounted footprint, no permitted crossbar span and no approved off-centre box position for the INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft, Roof Rack, Roof Box, Cargo Box, hard shell or for the TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys, so an overall box width does not settle whether a pairing fits. Taelakeni states that its J-bar design secures the kayak on its side, consuming minimal space on the load bar [S12]. Component ratings are only part of the answer — the HmmtyRack crossbars state 220 lbs, for example [S9] — because your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit is a separately defined figure that must also carry the crossbars and the empty carriers. Every applicable limit has to hold as it is defined, and no allowance under one transfers to another. Read your vehicle's limit in your owner's manual before you load anything, and confirm the layout is one the box, cradle, rack and vehicle makers approve.
How much roof width does a cargo box actually take?
TUFFIOM states overall dimensions of 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H for its 13.4 cu ft box [S7]. Those exterior dimensions do not establish the occupied mounting footprint, permitted positions or full boat-and-carrier clearance. Obtain those requirements from the manufacturers. The supplied INNO WEDGE660 record states no exterior dimensions.
Will J-bar kayak carriers fit round crossbars?
Often not. Taelakeni states its carrier is for flat and square crossbars only and works on virtually all bars except round [S12]. The 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack says it is not suitable for circular crossbars with a diameter under 1.2 inches [S4].
How much weight can these setups carry?
Each component publishes its own limit, and those limits are defined differently, so they cannot simply be ranked against one another. HmmtyRack rates its crossbars at 100 kg / 220 lbs [S9]. TUFFIOM rates its box at 150 lbs of contents at approximately 24.25 lbs empty [S7]. Taelakeni states a 150 lb maximum load [S12]. The 2 Pairs Heavy Duty Kayak Rack accommodates kayaks up to 36 inches wide and 100 lbs [S4]. None of these is your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit, which is a separate figure that also has to carry the crossbars and empty carriers — read it in your owner's manual, and satisfy every one of these limits as each is defined rather than treating any single figure as the controlling one.
Do I need special clamps to mount a roof box?
Only if your box doesn't include suitable hardware — and matching dimensions is not on its own the test, because neither kit's supplied facts state approval by any cargo-box maker. The ATNVIDSG Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps/Roof Rack Clamps car Truck Universal Stainless Steel U Brackets state an 85 mm / 3.35 in inner width and fit luggage racks up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick [S8]. The Glazeal 4Pack Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps state an 82 mm / 3.23 in inner width and thread wording of M8 (7.5 mm), which needs manufacturer clarification; they list racks up to approximately 40 mm / 1.57 in thick and exclude Thule car racks [S10]. That 82 mm figure is the clamp's inner opening, not a confirmed permitted bar width: the same Glazeal listing also states a rack width limit that is internally inconsistent, so confirm the permitted width with the seller [S10]. Measure your bar against those figures, confirm the permitted bar width with the seller, and confirm with your box and rack manufacturers which mounting interface, threads and retention hardware and which mounting positions are approved for your carrier — an inner opening is the bracket's own dimension, not a stated bar width limit or evidence of approved hardware.
Can I carry a kayak without any roof rack at all?
Soft pads are designed for exactly that. HEYTRIP states an 80 kg maximum load and says its pads work on almost any vehicle with or without side rails or gutters, including bow and stern tie-down ropes for long loads [S6]. Abahub's 32-inch pads fit SUVs, sedans, hatchbacks and 2- or 4-door cars with or without side rails [S11]. Neither supplied record approves a hard-shell cargo box installation. For a kayak, confirm exact vehicle, roof, pad and boat compatibility, approved attachment and routing, and every load limit; obtain Abahub's missing load rating before use.
Where do I store a cargo box in the off-season?
A rated wall hanger keeps it off the garage floor. Rhino-Rack rates its Large Wall Hanger at a maximum payload of 176 lbs (80 kg) and names roof boxes, kayaks, SUPs and canoes among supported items [S3]. On regular drywall, Rhino-Rack instructs using a stud finder and securing into the studs [S3].
Sources & Methodology
This website did not physically or laboratory-test any rack, box, cradle or clamp on this page, and it operates no test facility. What it did do is read each product's Amazon Creators API verified product record and every published listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-06, then compare those figures against one another — the stated box dimensions, the stated crossbar rating, the stated clamp openings — and flag every place a listing stays silent, or defines a figure differently from another listing, rather than filling the gap. Comparing published dimensions is not the same as establishing fit: mounted footprints, approved mounting positions and approved hardware come from the manufacturers, not from arithmetic on this page.
For a category like this, that kind of reading gets you further than it would elsewhere, because published dimensions and ratings can screen candidates, while the complete approved combination, attachment, restraint, clearances and handling requirements still have to be confirmed. It will not tell you how a particular box sounds at highway speed or how a strap ages after two seasons in the sun; for those, owner feedback and your own vehicle's roof load limit are the better guides.