As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Stated Capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black | Hitch hauling when you still need the tailgate | 16 cubic feet, 200 lb load rating | Check Price on Amazon |
| StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory | The same carrier in a lighter finish | 16 cubic feet, 200 lb load rating | Check Price on Amazon |
| AlltoAuto 38 Cubic Feet Truck Bed Cargo Bag | Full-size pickup beds in bad weather | 38 cubic feet | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, a long-distance move is a volume problem wearing a budget problem's clothes. You have more cubic feet of belongings than you have seats, and whatever doesn't fit either rides on the outside of the vehicle or waits for a second trip that costs you a tank of fuel and a weekend.
Two very different products solve that. A vehicle-mounted cargo carrier adds enclosed, weather-protected space outside the cabin. Moving cartons organize what goes into that space. This guide covers both, kept clearly separate, because a corrugated carton is a packing supply and a hitch box is vehicle equipment — and blurring the two is how people end up with a load heavier than the hitch was ever rated to carry.
Every specification below comes from the products' own published Amazon listings, retrieved on September 6, 2026. This website does not do hands-on testing, and none of these products was driven, installed, loaded or handled for this guide. What follows is a close reading of what each listing actually claims, plus the arithmetic those claims imply for someone packing a household.
Vehicle-Mounted Cargo Carriers
These three are the actual cargo boxes and carriers in this guide. Everything after them is what you pack inside.
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black — Best for hitch-mounted hauling when you still need to open the rear hatch
The specification that matters most here isn't the volume. It's the frame. The listing describes a Swingaway frame that pivots the box away from the vehicle, giving unobstructed access to the rear doors, hatch or tailgate without removing the carrier. On a move that distinction is everything, because a carrier blocking your hatch is a carrier you have to unbolt every time you remember something.
Capacity is listed as 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space with a 200 lb load rating. Do that division before you shop: 200 pounds spread over 16 cubic feet averages out to 12.5 pounds per cubic foot. Pack pillows, duvets, lampshades and winter coats and you will run out of volume long before you approach the weight rating. Pack books, hand tools or small kitchen appliances and the opposite happens — you hit the rating with the box visibly half empty. Load by density, not by eye.
The rest of the hardware list reads like it was assembled by someone who has thought hard about a loaded hitch carrier crossing a state line. The listing names a keyed locking latch, a hitch tightener, a lit license plate bracket and LED taillights. Construction is described as molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks, and the carrier is stated to be assembled in the Pacific Northwest.
Pros
- 16 cubic feet of enclosed space with a 200 lb load rating, per the manufacturer's listing
- Swingaway frame pivots the box aside for rear-door, hatch or tailgate access without removing the carrier
- Keyed locking latch, hitch tightener, lit license plate bracket and LED taillights are all listed as included
- Molded from the same impact-resistant polymer the listing says is used in whitewater kayaks
- Stated to be assembled in the Pacific Northwest
- The supplied listing information does not state a receiver size, a hitch class requirement, or the empty weight of the carrier. All three matter, because what your vehicle can legally and safely carry at the hitch is set by the vehicle and the receiver, not by the box's own rating.
- No warranty length is stated in the supplied listing information.
- A hitch-mounted box adds length behind the bumper, and the supplied listing information does not state how much. That affects parking, ramps and garage clearance during a move.
Verdict: Buy this if you're moving in an SUV, wagon or hatchback and need 16 enclosed cubic feet that locks, lights up and swings clear of the tailgate — and if you have already confirmed your hitch can take the carrier's weight plus 200 pounds of cargo.
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory — Best for buyers who want the same 16 cubic feet with a reflector-based rear setup
This is the same Max cargo box in a different finish, and its listing carries the same headline numbers: 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating. The Swingaway frame is described here as pivoting completely to the side for unobstructed access to the rear doors, hatch or tailgate without removing the carrier. Same polymer story too — molded from the same impact-resistant material the listing says is used in whitewater kayaks. The keyed locking latch appears on this listing as well.
There are two wording differences worth knowing about, and honestly they're small. The Ivory listing names a keyed locking latch, a hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights among its road hardware, where the Black listing names a lit license plate bracket in that same position. Neither listing rules out the other item; they simply describe their hardware differently. The Ivory listing also states it is assembled in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components.
Color is not a trivial choice on a carrier that sits behind a vehicle in July traffic. A pale finish absorbs less solar heat than a black one, which is worth a thought if your load includes candles, cosmetics, vinyl records or anything else that sags in a hot enclosed space. That's physics, not a manufacturer claim — the listing makes no temperature statement either way.
Pros
- Identical stated capacity to the Black version: 16 cubic feet and a 200 lb load rating
- Swingaway frame pivots completely to the side for rear-door, hatch or tailgate access without removing the carrier
- Keyed locking latch, hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights listed as included
- Stated to be assembled in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components
- As with the Black version, the supplied listing information states no receiver size, hitch class, empty weight or warranty term.
- A light-colored molded box will show road grime and brake dust more readily than a dark one — an appearance trade-off, not a durability one.
AlltoAuto 38 Cubic Feet Truck Bed Cargo Bag, Waterproof with Heavy Duty PVC — Best for full-size pickup owners hauling weather-sensitive bulk
Here's the thing about a pickup on moving day: you already have the space, what you don't have is a roof. This bag is a direct answer to that. The listing states a 38 cubic foot capacity, which is more than double the 16 cubic feet the StowAway Max carriers list — but it is only usable if you own the truck bed to put it in.
The waterproofing claims are unusually specific for this category, and specificity is worth something. The seller describes 600D heavy-duty PVC with high-frequency heat-welded seams and no needle holes, plus a rugged waterproof three-side zipper with an extra-wide flap. Heat-welded seams instead of stitched ones is a real construction distinction: a sewn seam is a line of perforations that has to be sealed afterward, while a welded seam has no holes to seal. The seller says the bag keeps luggage dry even in highway-speed rainstorms, which is the seller's claim rather than an independently verified result.
Securing is handled by four reinforced heavy-duty straps, which the seller says keep cargo stable at 75 mph. The bag is described as designed to maximize the bed space of full-size pickups including the F-150, Silverado, RAM and Sierra, and it folds into an included storage bag when not in use — which matters more than it sounds, since a soft carrier you can stow in a closet between moves beats a rigid box you have to find garage space for.
Pros
- 38 cubic feet of stated capacity, more than double the 16 cubic feet listed for the StowAway Max carriers
- 600D heavy-duty PVC with high-frequency heat-welded seams and no needle holes, per the seller
- Three-side waterproof zipper with an extra-wide flap for loading bulky items
- Four reinforced heavy-duty straps
- Folds into an included storage bag when not in use
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity for this bag. Both StowAway carriers publish a 200 lb load rating; this one publishes cubic feet only, so plan the load against your truck's payload rating instead.
- It requires a full-size pickup bed, so it does nothing for an SUV, wagon or sedan move.
- The listing describes a zipper closure and does not describe a lock. A zippered fabric bag is not the security equivalent of the keyed locking latch both StowAway listings describe, so treat overnight motel stops accordingly.
Verdict: The right pick for an F-150, Silverado, RAM or Sierra owner whose problem is rain and dust rather than raw space — 38 cubic feet of covered, strapped-down bed storage that packs away flat afterward.
What Goes Inside: Moving Cartons to Pair With a Carrier
These are packing boxes, not vehicle carriers. None of them mounts to a car, and none should ever be strapped to a roof or hitch on its own. They go inside the cabin, inside the hitch box, or inside the bed bag. Grouping them here keeps the distinction honest.
| Product | Pack | Key Stated Specification | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| U-Haul Large Moving and Shipping Box Kit | 10 boxes + 55-yard tape roll | 18 x 18 x 24 in, double-walled, ECT 48, holds up to 80 lb | Check Price on Amazon |
| uBoxes Moving Boxes Medium 18" x 14" x 12" Pack of 15 | 15 boxes | 18 x 14 x 12 in, holds approximately 30 lb per box | Check Price on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|
| UBMOVE Large Moving Boxes 20'' x 20'' x 15'' (Pack of 6) | 6 boxes | 20 x 20 x 15 in per box, corrugated cardboard | Check Price on Amazon |
| Bankers Box 3-Pack Tall Tape-Free Wardrobe Moving Boxes | 3 boxes | 24 x 24 x 40 in, 3 metal hanging bars, up to 2 linear feet of hanging apparel | Check Price on Amazon |
| Bankers Box 4-Pack Large TV/Picture/Mirror Moving Boxes | 4 boxes | Sized for TVs up to 55 inches, framed art and mirrors; moving purposes only, not intended for shipping | Check Price on Amazon |
| Bankers Box Classic Moving Box 12 Pack Kit | 8 small + 4 medium | Tape-free assembly, reinforced carry handles, lift-off lid | Check Price on Amazon |
The carton numbers interact with the carrier numbers in ways worth doing on paper. Volume runs out slower than weight does. That gap is the single most common way a cargo carrier gets overloaded.
Strength is where these cartons genuinely differ, and the listings say so plainly. The U-Haul kit is described as double-walled with an ECT rating of 48 and a capacity of up to 80 lb per box. BOX USA states 32-ECT corrugated supporting up to 65 lb when properly packed. The uBoxes 15-pack, in the same 18 x 14 x 12 inch footprint as the BOX USA boxes, states approximately 30 pounds per box. Same size, very different intended loads — that comparison alone should decide which pack you buy for books versus which you buy for bedding.
The wardrobe boxes deserve a warning about geometry. At 24 x 24 x 40 inches, each Bankers Box wardrobe carton is about 13.3 cubic feet, which is close to the entire 16 cubic foot volume of a StowAway Max. Wardrobe boxes go in the cabin or the truck bed, never in the hitch box, and their three metal hanging bars are stated to accommodate up to 2 linear feet of hanging apparel — a modest closet's worth, so count your rod space before assuming three boxes empties your bedroom.
Two convenience notes. The Bankers Box Classic kit and the wardrobe boxes both use tape-free assembly with reinforced carry handles, and the Classic kit adds a lift-off lid that the listing says stays secure in transit. And the Bankers Box TV/Picture/Mirror boxes carry an explicit restriction: the listing states they are for moving purposes only and not intended for shipping, so don't buy them planning to hand a framed print to a courier.
What to Look For in a Cargo Box for Moving
- A published weight rating, not just a volume figure. The StowAway Max listings state a 200 lb load rating alongside 16 cubic feet; the AlltoAuto bag's supplied listing information states 38 cubic feet with no weight figure. A carrier without a stated load limit forces you to work backward from your vehicle's own payload numbers.
- Rear access. If the carrier blocks a hatch or tailgate, every mid-trip retrieval becomes a removal job. A pivoting frame like the StowAway Swingaway is the specific feature that solves this.
- Weather sealing you can evaluate. Molded polymer with a latching lid and welded-seam PVC are two legitimately different approaches; stitched-and-taped seams are the weaker third option.
- Security. A keyed locking latch is a meaningfully different proposition from a zipper when the move includes an overnight stop.
- Visibility hardware. Anything hanging behind the bumper obscures your lights and plate. LED taillights and either a lit plate bracket or reflectors, as the StowAway listings describe, are not optional extras on an interstate drive.
- Your hitch, not the box. Receiver class and tongue weight limits come from your vehicle and hitch, and none of the supplied listing information establishes what your setup can take. Check the vehicle documentation first — see how hitch classes and tongue weight work.
- Storage after the move. A soft bag that folds into an included storage bag disappears into a closet; a molded box needs a permanent home. If this is a one-time move, that matters. Related reading: rooftop cargo bag versus hard box.
How We Research
This roundup is built from two source types and nothing else: Amazon Creators API verified product records, and the products' own listing feature bullets, all retrieved on September 6, 2026. Each product's specifications were read against that product's own record, so no figure here has been carried over from a similar model or a different color variant — which matters in a guide where two of the entries are the same carrier in different finishes.
From there the work is analytical: converting stated dimensions into cubic feet, dividing load ratings by volume to find usable packing density, and flagging where a listing states a number and where it simply doesn't. Where a specification is absent from the supplied listing information, this article says so rather than filling it in. No product was physically examined, driven, loaded or measured for this page.
Recommendations by Use Case
Moving out of an apartment in an SUV or hatchback: either StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame, because 16 cubic feet of enclosed space with a keyed locking latch and a frame that pivots clear of the hatch is the combination that survives a multi-day drive with repeated loading stops — pick the Black or the Ivory on finish and rear-hardware wording.
Moving in a full-size pickup: the AlltoAuto 38 Cubic Feet Truck Bed Cargo Bag, whose 38 cubic feet, 600D PVC and heat-welded seams address the one thing an open bed can't — weather.
Packing books, tools and kitchenware: the U-Haul Large Moving and Shipping Box Kit, rated by the listing at up to 80 lb per box with double-walled construction and an ECT rating of 48, and shipped with a 55-yard tape roll so you're not making a second trip for supplies.
Packing linens, clothes and light bulk: the uBoxes Moving Boxes Medium 18" x 14" x 12" Pack of 15, at approximately 30 pounds per box — a quantity-first pack for the low-density half of a household.
Moving a closet: the Bankers Box 3-Pack Tall Tape-Free Wardrobe Moving Boxes, with three metal bars accommodating up to 2 linear feet of hanging apparel and no tape required.
Moving a TV or framed art: the Bankers Box 4-Pack Large TV/Picture/Mirror Moving Boxes, sized for TVs up to 55 inches, with the caveat that the listing states they are for moving only and not intended for shipping.
Final Verdict
If you drive anything other than a pickup, a StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame is the pick, and the reason is narrow and specific: its listing pairs a published 200 lb load rating and 16 cubic feet of enclosed space with a frame that swings clear of your rear hatch and a keyed locking latch. On a multi-day move, access and security are what you'll actually be dealing with at every stop. The Black and the Ivory list the same 16 cubic feet, the same 200 lb rating, the same pivoting frame and the same keyed locking latch, so that choice comes down to finish and to whether you prefer the lit license plate bracket the Black listing names or the reflectors the Ivory listing names.
Pickup owners should skip both and take the AlltoAuto 38 Cubic Feet Truck Bed Cargo Bag instead. You already have the volume; what its 600D PVC shell and heat-welded seams buy you is the weather protection your bed doesn't have, at more than double the StowAway's stated cubic feet.
Then pack by density, not by box count. Heavy things go in the U-Haul kit's 80 lb boxes, light bulk goes in the 30 lb uBoxes cartons, and the carrier's weight rating — not its volume — is the number that stops you.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I open my tailgate with a hitch cargo box installed? With this specific design, yes. Both StowAway listings describe a Swingaway frame that pivots the box away from the vehicle for unobstructed access to the rear doors, hatch or tailgate without removing the carrier. Hitch carriers without a pivoting frame generally have to be removed first.
What's the difference between the Black and Ivory StowAway Max? On the supplied listings, the headline specifications match: 16 cubic feet, a 200 lb load rating, the Swingaway frame, a keyed locking latch, a hitch tightener and LED taillights appear on both. The wording differs on two points — the Black listing names a lit license plate bracket, the Ivory listing names reflectors and states assembly in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components.
Is a truck bed cargo bag better than a hitch cargo box for moving? It depends entirely on the vehicle. The AlltoAuto bag states 38 cubic feet against the StowAway carriers' 16, but it only works in a full-size pickup bed, and the supplied listing information states no weight capacity for it. A hitch box works on vehicles without a bed and publishes a 200 lb rating.
What weight can moving boxes actually hold? It varies more than people expect. The U-Haul kit's double-walled boxes are rated at up to 80 lb each with an ECT rating of 48, BOX USA states up to 65 lb with 32-ECT corrugated, and the uBoxes medium boxes state approximately 30 pounds per box despite sharing the same 18 x 14 x 12 inch dimensions as the BOX USA boxes.
Are cargo boxes waterproof enough for a multi-day drive? The StowAway listings describe weather-resistant construction molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks. The AlltoAuto bag's seller describes 600D PVC with high-frequency heat-welded seams and no needle holes. Neither listing supplies an independent waterproofing test result, so treat both as manufacturer claims and pack anything irreplaceable inside the cabin.
Can I put a wardrobe box inside a cargo box? Not practically. Wardrobe boxes belong in the cabin or the truck bed.
Do I need to check my hitch before buying a hitch cargo box? Yes, and before you buy rather than after. The supplied listing information for these carriers does not state a receiver size, hitch class or empty carrier weight, and the tongue weight your setup can carry is determined by your vehicle and hitch documentation rather than by the box's own rating.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested by this website, and no product here was driven, mounted, loaded or handled at any point in preparing it. The research consisted of pulling each item's Amazon Creators API verified product record and reading its listing feature bullets line by line on September 6, 2026, then comparing only the figures the manufacturers themselves publish — cubic feet, pounds, ECT ratings, box dimensions and included hardware — across the ten products.
For a category like this, that method gets you further than it would for something like a mattress or a coffee grinder, because the purchase decision here is genuinely arithmetic: whether 16 cubic feet and 200 pounds covers your load, whether 38 cubic feet fits your bed, whether an 80 lb carton or a 30 lb carton matches what you're packing. What published specifications cannot tell you is long-term durability, real-world fitment on your specific vehicle, or how a latch holds up after two winters, and this guide does not pretend otherwise.