SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box vs SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box

SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box vs SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box

Updated October 2026

SportRack Vista XL vs Sidekick cargo box, compared on published specs: 18 vs 8 cubic feet, 100 vs 75 lb load, footprint,...

17 min read

As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

PickProductWhy it earns the pickLink
Best for maximum listed volumeSportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,BlackListed at 18 cubic feet (510 L) and a 100 pound (45 kg) max weight capacity, the higher of the two listed figures [S3][S4]Check Price on Amazon
Smaller listed shell and capacitySportRack Sidekick Cargo BoxListed at 54 x 25 x 15.5 inches and 8 cubic feet; SportRack's listing describes a space-saving design, and the supplied listing information does not state the mounted footprint [S4]Check Price on Amazon

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Two boxes, one brand, and a size gap you cannot split the difference on. Here's the thing: the published specifications for these two SportRack boxes are far enough apart that this is less a head-to-head fight and more a question about your roof, your car and how much you actually need to carry.

Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.
SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black
SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black
$399.99price read from Amazon at publish time
  • 18 cubic foot (510 L) internal cargo capacity
  • Made from durable UV-resistant ABS material
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $399.99 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon
SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box
SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box
$299.95price read from Amazon at publish time
  • 8 cubic foot cargo capacity
  • Compact roof box. ideal for small loads such as camping gear or gold clubs
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $299.95 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon

Quick Answer

Buy the Vista XL if you need volume. Amazon's listing for the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black states 18 cubic feet (510 L) of internal cargo capacity and a maximum weight capacity of 100 pounds (45 kg), on a 63 x 38 x 19 in (160 x 96.5 x 48 cm) shell [S3]. That is the larger of the two listed capacities; the supplied listing information does not state how much crossbar space the box occupies once mounted, so measure your own bars and check SportRack's fit guide.

Consider the Sidekick if you need less volume. Amazon's listing for the SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box states 8 cubic feet of cargo capacity, a 75 pound load capacity, and dimensions of 54 x 25 x 15.5 inches [S4]; that listing does not label which of those figures is length, width or height, so treat its mounted width as unconfirmed. SportRack's listing describes a space-saving design that carries the load with room for other items on the roof rack [S4]; the supplied listing information does not state the mounting footprint or clearances, so confirm any shared-load setup against SportRack's approved configuration and against every applicable vehicle, rack, mount and carrier load limit.

Full Specification Comparison

FeatureSportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo BoxSportRack Sidekick Cargo Box
Cargo capacity18 cubic feet (510 L) internal [S3]8 cubic feet [S4]
Dimensions63 x 38 x 19 in (LxWxH) / 160 x 96.5 x 48 cm [S3]54 x 25 x 15.5 in, axes not stated in the listing [S4]
Load capacity100 pounds (45 kg) max [S3]75 pounds [S4]
Box weightNot stated in the supplied listing information19.85 pounds [S4]
Opening sideRear opening, which the listing describes as access away from traffic [S3]Passenger-side opening [S4]
MountingTool-free mounting hardware [S3]U-bolts with reinforcement plates [S4]
LockingKey and lock secure contents and the box to your rack [S3]Lock to secure contents [S4]
Shell materialUV-resistant ABS [S3]Not stated in the supplied listing information
Crossbar spacing23 5/8 - 29 3/4 in (60 - 75.5 cm) [S3]Not stated in the supplied listing information
Rack compatibilitySportRack systems, square bars, round bars, most factory racks (check fit guide) [S3]SportRack systems, square bars, round bars, most factory racks [S4]
PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Design & Build Quality

Amazon's listing for the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black describes it as made from durable UV-resistant ABS material [S3]. That matters for a box that lives outdoors, because UV exposure is what fades and embrittles plastic over years of parking in the sun. The supplied listing information for the SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box does not state a shell material, which is not the same thing as saying it lacks one or that its shell is any different.

Mounting is where the two diverge in character. The Vista XL uses tool-free mounting hardware for installation and removal [S3]. The Sidekick mounts with sturdy U-bolts and reinforcement plates [S4]. U-bolts are a straightforward, conventional clamp, but the listing does not describe them as tool-free and the supplied listing information does not state what tools, if any, the installation requires, so check SportRack's installation instructions.

One genuinely useful Vista XL number that the Sidekick listing does not give you: a minimum-maximum crossbar spacing of 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 in (60 to 75.5 cm) [S3]. That figure is crossbar spacing, not side-rail spacing, so measure the gap between your crossbars before you order. If your crossbar spacing sits outside that window, the Vista XL is not a candidate; spacing inside it does not establish complete approved fit either, which SportRack's fit guide defines for your vehicle.

Features & Functionality

Opening side is the sharpest usability split here. The Vista XL opens at the rear, which the listing frames as access away from traffic [S3]. That is the seller's wording, not a guarantee about any particular parking situation: the supplied listing information does not state where you will be standing, so choose a safe, permitted loading spot and follow SportRack's access instructions. The Sidekick opens on the passenger side [S4], which its listing frames as easier loading and unloading; the listing makes no claim about traffic-side access.

Locking scope is different too, and it is easy to skim past. The Vista XL includes a key and lock that secure the contents in the box and the box to your rack [S3]. The Sidekick's listing states a lock to secure contents [S4]; it does not state that the lock also secures the box to the rack. If theft of the box itself is a concern where you park, that distinction is worth a direct question to SportRack before you buy.

Both boxes list the same broad fitment language: SportRack rack systems, square bars, round bars and most factory racks, with the Vista XL listing adding an explicit instruction to check the fit guide [S3][S4]. "Most" is doing real work in that sentence. Check your specific vehicle.

Performance

Capacity is not close. 18 cubic feet against 8 cubic feet [S3][S4] means the Vista XL holds more than twice the volume of the Sidekick. The Sidekick's listing pitches it at small loads such as camping gear or golf clubs [S4]. The listing for the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black states 18 cubic feet (510 L) [S3] without stating what any particular load requires, so check your actual contents against the box's usable dimensions and opening.

Weight capacity follows the same order: 100 pounds (45 kg) for the Vista XL versus 75 pounds for the Sidekick [S3][S4]. The box rating is not the only limit that applies, though. The supplied facts do not state how a vehicle's roof load rating or a crossbar rating compares with a box's own rating, and the box's empty weight counts toward whichever limits apply. The SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box lists its own weight at 19.85 pounds [S4]; the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black's weight is not stated in the supplied listing information. Your rack and mounting hardware also add weight that the supplied listing information does not state, so apply every applicable limit together — the vehicle's roof load limit, the crossbar rating, the mounting hardware's rating and the box's own rating — counting the equipment and the cargo weight where required, rather than deducting the box weight alone.

Listed shell dimensions are the other axis to compare, and they do not establish occupied bar space. The SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box lists dimensions of 54 x 25 x 15.5 inches without stating which figure is which axis [S4]. The SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black lists 63 x 38 x 19 in (LxWxH) [S3]. Overall shell dimensions do not establish the mounting footprint, the bar space either box occupies once mounted or which vehicles they suit, so measure your own bars and roof, and confirm any shared-load setup, clearances and load limits against SportRack's approved configuration before ordering.

Price & Value

Value here is a cost-per-cubic-foot question you should run yourself at checkout, because pricing moves. What the specifications tell you is what you are paying for: 18 cubic feet, a 100 pound rating, a UV-resistant ABS shell, tool-free hardware and a lock that also secures the box to the rack on one side [S3]; 8 cubic feet, a 75 pound rating, a 19.85 pound box and a listed 54 x 25 x 15.5 in shell on the other [S4].

If both land at similar prices, the Vista XL is the stronger spec sheet. If your roof cannot take a 63 x 38 in box, the Vista XL's extra capacity is of no use to you; whether the Sidekick fits is a separate question to confirm against your vehicle and SportRack's fit guide.

SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box — Best for maximum listed capacity

This is the pick for volume: the listing states an 18 cubic foot (510 L) internal capacity and a 100 pound (45 kg) max weight rating [S3], the higher of the two listed figures. The listing describes the rear opening as access away from traffic [S3]; it does not state where you will stand in any given parking spot.

SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box — Smaller listed shell and capacity

The case for the Sidekick is its listed 54 x 25 x 15.5 in shell [S4], which SportRack's own listing markets as a space-saving design leaving room for other items on the roof rack [S4]. The supplied listing information does not state the mounting footprint or clearances, so confirm any shared-load setup against SportRack's approved configuration and against every applicable vehicle, rack, mount and carrier load limit.

SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

Which Should You Buy?

If you are still mapping out your setup, our guides to choosing roof crossbars and roof box security cover the fit and locking questions in more depth.

How We Research

This comparison was built by reading the published specifications for each ASIN and comparing them line by line. Both product records were retrieved on 6 September 2026 from the Amazon Creators API verified product record, and every capacity, dimension, weight and mounting detail above comes from the product listing feature bullets on those two listings [S3][S4]. Where a listing does not state a figure, this page says so instead of estimating one. Nobody on this website handled, mounted, loaded or drove with either box.

For recall notices and general consumer product safety information in the United States, the CPSC publishes a public database [S1], and USA.gov maintains consumer protection resources [S2].

Frequently Asked Questions

How much bigger is the Vista XL than the Sidekick?

More than twice the volume. The Vista XL is listed at 18 cubic feet (510 L) and the Sidekick at 8 cubic feet [S3][S4].

Which SportRack box is better for a small car?

On listed shell dimensions, the Sidekick is the smaller box. The SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box lists a 54 x 25 x 15.5 in shell, without stating which figure is which axis [S4], against the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black's listed 63 x 38 x 19 in (LxWxH) [S3], and SportRack markets the Sidekick as leaving room for other items on the rack [S4]. Shell dimensions alone do not establish the mounted footprint or fit, so measure your roof and crossbars and check SportRack's fit guide.

What crossbar spacing does the SportRack Vista XL need?

The listing specifies a minimum-maximum crossbar spacing of 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 in (60 to 75.5 cm) [S3]. The supplied listing information for the Sidekick does not state a crossbar spacing range.

Does the rear opening on the Vista XL actually matter?

The two listings describe different opening sides. SportRack's listing describes the Vista XL's rear opening as giving easy access away from traffic [S3], whereas the Sidekick opens on the passenger side [S4]. The supplied listing information does not state where you will be standing in any given parking situation. The supplied listing information does not state how far you have to reach into either box.

How much weight can each box carry?

The Vista XL is rated at a maximum weight capacity of 100 pounds (45 kg) and the Sidekick at 75 pounds [S3][S4]. Both figures are the box manufacturer's ratings. Apply every applicable limit as defined — the vehicle's roof load limit, the crossbar rating, the mounting hardware's rating and the box's own rating — including equipment and cargo weight where required; the supplied facts do not state which limit governs.

Do both boxes lock?

Both listings include a lock. The Vista XL's includes a key and lock that secure the contents in the box and the box to your rack [S3]; the Sidekick's listing states a lock to secure contents [S4] without saying whether it also secures the box to the rack.

Will either box fit my factory roof rails?

Both listings say they fit SportRack rack systems, square bars, round bars and most factory racks, and the Vista XL listing adds an instruction to check the fit guide [S3][S4]. "Most" is not "all", so confirm against your vehicle before ordering.

Final Verdict

The Vista XL has the stronger specification sheet, and it is not particularly close: 18 cubic feet, 100 pounds, a UV-resistant ABS shell, tool-free hardware, and a lock that secures the box to the rack as well as the contents [S3]. If SportRack's fit guide confirms it for your vehicle, rack and crossbar spacing, that is the one to buy.

But a box that does not fit is worth zero cubic feet. The Sidekick is listed at 54 x 25 x 15.5 inches and 19.85 pounds [S4], with a space-saving design its listing pitches at small loads such as camping gear or golf clubs [S4]; the supplied listing information does not state its mounted footprint or which vehicles it suits, so confirm that with SportRack.

Measure your crossbar gap first. Then pick the volume. That order, not the reverse.

SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box | SportRack Sidekick Cargo Box

Sources & Methodology

This website did not physically test, mount, load or laboratory-measure either cargo box, and it runs no test facility. What it did do is pull the verified product records for ASIN B00BCLL8C0 and ASIN B0DTQVLVH1 from the Amazon Creators API on 6 September 2026 and read every product listing feature bullet on each, then compare the capacity, dimension, load, mounting, opening and locking figures side by side and flag the fields one listing publishes and the other does not [S3][S4]. For roof boxes that is a useful starting point, because capacity and the published crossbar spacing range are numbers the manufacturer publishes rather than qualities you have to feel out — your crossbar spacing either falls inside the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black's stated range of 23 5/8 - 29 3/4 in (60 - 75.5 cm) [S3] or it does not, although spacing alone does not establish complete approved fit, which SportRack's fit guide defines. What it cannot tell you is long-term weather sealing, wind noise or hinge durability, none of which appear in the supplied listing information for either box.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews