As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box | Families who want a published 130 lbs load rating with dual-side access | |
| GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier | Heaviest published weight rating (165 lbs), with a one-year warranty stated in its listing | |
| Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Largest published volume, and cars with no roof rack at all | |
| DNA Motoring Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier Lockable Heavy Duty Car Top | Crossbar-equipped vehicles, with full exterior dimensions published | |
| KMFurnila 15 Cubic Feet Heavy Duty Waterproof Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier | 15 cu ft with or without roof racks, storage bag included |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, the hardest part of shopping for an affordable roof cargo box isn't picking a brand. It's figuring out whether the box on your screen actually bolts to the crossbars already on your car, and whether the cubic-feet number in the title is the number you'll actually fill.
This page works through ten rooftop cargo products by reading their published listing specifications closely — hard-shell boxes, soft-shell bags, and the mounting hardware and roof pads that make either one work. Nobody on this site has driven with any of them. What follows is spec analysis: what each manufacturer publishes, what that figure likely means when you're loading a family's worth of luggage at 6 a.m., and which buyer each one fits.
One thing worth saying up front: capacity and weight limit are two different constraints, and the weight limit is usually the one that bites. The Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box (ASIN B0F631L11C) publishes a 130 lbs maximum, but your vehicle's own roof load limit has to cover the crossbars and the empty carrier as well as your cargo, so check that figure in your owner's manual alongside the carrier's rating.
- 13 Cubic Feet Capacity – Offers 13 cu ft of rooftop storage space to safely transport your luggage, gear, or outdoor equipment, supporting up to 130 lbs
- Durable ABS + PMMA Shell – Built from heavy-duty, weather-resistant materials for long-lasting performance in all seasons with a glossy, modern black finish
- 【DURABLE CONSTRUCTION】Crafted from high-quality ABS material, the hard shell rooftop cargo box ensures long-lasting durability. Its waterproof and UV-resistant design protects
- 【SPACIOUS 12/14 CUBIC FEET STORAGE】With dimensions of 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H/62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H, the rooftop cargo box offers 12 cubic feet (340L) of extra storage space
- 【Large Capacity & Universal Vehicle Fit】 The rooftop cargo carrier bag delivers 20 cubic feet of storage with 51’’×39’’×17’’ dimensions, easily holding suitcases, travel luggage
- 【Upgraded Newly Designed Rainproof Structure】Designed with sealed dual waterproof zippers and an extended rain flap to keep water out from every angle. Triple reinforced welded
- 【UNIVERSAL】This extra long rooftop cargo carrier fits for vehicles with cross bars only, no tool assembly & installation. Increases vehicle cargo space without impeding on
- 【LARGE CAPACITY】Rooftop cargo box provides 11 cubic feet of additional storage space. The maximum storage capacity of 110lbs when evenly distributed. And it can be opened up to
- Superior Durable Material: Crafted from 700D high-wear PVC fabric with triple reinforced welds, it drastically reduces vehicle load vs hard roof boxes, ensuring long-lasting
- Fully Waterproof: Equipped with sealed waterproof zipper and large Velcro protective flap. Adopting professional heat-sealed welding craft, the bag achieves excellent waterproof
- [Secure Your Roof Box with Confidence] - Our 4 PCS Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps are designed to firmly hold your roof box in place, ensuring it stays safe and stable while you're on the
- [Complete Installation Accessory Kit] - We provide a comprehensive roof box fixing accessory kit that includes 4 metal U-bolt clamps, 4 plastic back plates, 4 rubber gaskets, 8
- Precise: [Fitment of Roof Rack Clamps Brackets ] Fit for most cars, van cargo carrier roof box on the market. Inner width 83mm/3.27in, width from center to center of screw thread
- Tough: [Neccessity of Cargo Carrier Replacement Bolts] To avoid the roof box fall and to keep its stable during driving. Rubber gasket and plastic back board can protect your car
- High Quality Material: This product is made of high-quality stainless steel and plastic materials. Stainless steel material has a reliable texture, is not easily damaged, can
- High Quality Material: This product is made of high-quality stainless steel and plastic materials. Stainless steel material has a reliable texture, is not easily damaged, can
Quick Comparison Table
| Product | Type | Published capacity | Published weight limit | Fitment note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box | Hard shell | 13 cu ft | 130 lbs | Crossbars up to 3 in wide, round/square/aero |
| GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier | Hard shell | 12 cu ft (340 L) | 165 lbs | Vehicles with a roof rack; verify fitting guidelines |
| DNA Motoring Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier Lockable Heavy Duty Car Top | Hard shell | 11 cu ft | 110 lbs | Cross bars only |
| INNO GEAR CARRY Matte Black | Hard shell | 6 cu ft | Not stated in the supplied listing | Locks with levers on Quick base (sold separately) |
| Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Soft shell | 20 cu ft | Not stated in the supplied listing | With or without roof rails |
| KMFurnila 15 Cubic Feet Heavy Duty Waterproof Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier | Soft shell | 15 cu ft | Not stated in the supplied listing | With or without roof racks |
The Hard-Shell Boxes
Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 13 Cu Ft Rooftop Cargo Carrier for SUV Truck Car — Best for families who need curbside access with a stated load rating
Here's the thing about this one: it publishes both halves of the equation. The listing states 13 cubic feet of rooftop storage space supporting up to 130 lbs, and it states exactly what crossbars it mounts to — round, square, and aerodynamic bars up to 3 inches wide, using tool-free mounting brackets. That second spec is the one that saves a return trip. Measuring your bars and confirming they are under 3 inches settles one part of the fit question, not all of it: the listing for the Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box (ASIN B0F631L11C) publishes no crossbar spacing requirement and no exterior dimensions, so confirm those with the seller before you buy.
The dual-side opening is more than a convenience feature for a family. The listing specifies that the passenger side opens up to 13 inches wide with a built-in support arm holding it stable. Loading from the curb rather than the traffic side is a meaningful safety difference at a highway rest stop, and a support arm that holds the lid means you're not fighting it with one hand while holding a cooler with the other.
The shell is described as ABS plus PMMA, built for weather resistance across seasons in a glossy black finish. On the lock: the manufacturer specifies that the key only releases when all locking points are properly engaged. That is a genuinely thoughtful design choice — it turns the key into a physical confirmation that the lid is actually latched, rather than something you hope you did right in a dark parking lot.
Pros
- 130 lbs published load rating
- Crossbar compatibility stated precisely: round, square and aero bars up to 3 inches
- Dual-side opening with a passenger-side opening up to 13 inches and a support arm
- Key releases only when all locking points are engaged
- No tools required for assembly
- Requires crossbars; it is not an option for a bare roof
- The supplied listing information does not state the box's exterior dimensions or its own empty weight
Verdict: The strongest all-round choice here for a family with crossbars already fitted, chosen specifically because it pairs 13 cu ft and a 130 lbs rating with a stated 3-inch crossbar limit you can verify with a tape measure before ordering.
GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier — Best for the heaviest published payload and a stated warranty
The number that stands out on this listing is 165 lbs maximum capacity. That's the highest published weight rating among the boxes covered on this page, and it matters more than volume for anyone packing dense items — books, tools, cases of water, camping gear with metal in it. Volume runs out slowly; weight ratings run out fast.
The capacity description needs reading carefully, though. The bullet is headed "12/14 cubic feet" and lists two dimension sets, 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H and 62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H, then states the box offers 12 cubic feet (340 L) of extra storage space. Read plainly, that reads as two size variants sharing a listing, with 12 cu ft (340 L) being the figure the manufacturer commits to in prose. Before you order, confirm on the listing page which variant you're actually selecting — the 8-inch length difference between those two is not trivial on a compact car's roof.
Construction is high-quality ABS with a waterproof and UV-resistant design, and the manufacturer describes the aerodynamic shape as reducing fuel consumption and noise. Treat that as the seller's claim rather than a verified figure — no fuel-economy number is published to check it against. The GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier (ASIN B0G11Y9QC6) listing states a one-year warranty.
Pros
- 165 lbs maximum capacity, the highest published weight rating on this page
- Dual-sided opening with 2 keys and 2 straps included
- Waterproof and UV-resistant ABS construction
- Compatible with cars, vans and SUVs equipped with a roof rack
- The capacity bullet lists both 12 and 14 cubic feet with two dimension sets while committing to 12 cu ft (340 L) in prose — check the variant you select
- The manufacturer instructs that one side must be locked when opening the other, so it is not a both-sides-open-at-once design
- Requires a roof rack, and the manufacturer asks you to verify compatibility against their fitting guidelines first
DNA Motoring Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier Lockable Heavy Duty Car Top Storage Case — Best for crossbar-equipped vehicles when you want published exterior dimensions
This is the box for the family with crossbars that wants exterior dimensions published up front to check against the roof. The manufacturer publishes overall dimensions of 53" L x 34" W x 15" H with 11 cubic feet of internal storage and a 110 lbs maximum when evenly distributed. The DNA Motoring listing (ASIN B09J8P7RKS) states only that it fits vehicles with cross bars only; it publishes no compatible crossbar width or bar spacing, so confirm fitment with the seller before ordering.
The 15 inches is the box's overall exterior height, and the listing states the box opens up to 14 inches wide to store bulky items. The DNA Motoring listing (ASIN B09J8P7RKS) does not publish an interior or usable height, so it does not tell you what clearance gear with real depth would have inside.
Note the wording on load: 110 lbs when evenly distributed. That qualifier is doing real work. It's a reminder to spread heavy items across the floor of the box rather than stacking them over one crossbar. Construction is impact-resistant ABS, and it includes a key and lock, opening from the side and staying open until you close it.
Pros
- Full published dimensions: 53" L x 34" W x 15" H, so you can check it against your roof before buying
- Opens up to 14 inches wide for bulky items
- Impact-resistant ABS with a glossy black smooth finish
- Lid stays open until you close it — useful when loading two-handed
- No tool assembly and installation
- 110 lbs maximum, and only when the load is evenly distributed
- Fits vehicles with cross bars only
- The title reads "11 17 Cubic Ft." while the specification bullet states 11 cubic feet of internal storage — treat 11 cu ft as the figure the manufacturer commits to
Verdict: A reasonable pick for a crossbar-equipped family car, on the strength of the published 11 cu ft, 110 lbs evenly distributed rating and 14-inch lid opening width on ASIN B09J8P7RKS; the listing publishes no interior height, so check clearance for tall gear yourself.
INNO GEAR CARRY Matte Black, Cargo Box — Best for gear you need to wheel from the car to the campsite
This one is doing something different, and you should understand what before you buy. It's a 6 cubic foot box with large casters and a carry handle — the manufacturer's framing is "take all gears in box to your destination." It's a rolling case that happens to mount on a roof, not a roof box that happens to have wheels. For a campsite, a cabin, or a hotel where you'd otherwise be shuttling armloads across a parking lot, that's a genuinely different value proposition.
The critical fine print: it installs from one side and locks with levers on the Quick base, which is sold separately. Budget for that. A cargo box you can't mount is a very expensive suitcase, and the base is not in the box.
Construction is durable ABS plastic with protected large rubber corners — sensible on a box designed to be dragged over gravel and curbs. Inside straps are included to keep contents from shifting. It is described as made in Japan.
Pros
- Large casters and a carry handle for moving loaded gear away from the vehicle
- Protected large rubber corners on the ABS shell
- Inside straps included to secure contents
- Installable from one side
- Made in Japan per the listing
- The Quick base it locks to is sold separately, so the listed price is not the full mounting cost
- 6 cu ft, the smallest published capacity on this page
- The supplied listing information does not state a maximum load weight or exterior dimensions
Verdict: A niche but well-argued pick for campers and cabin travelers who value wheeling 6 cu ft of gear to the door — just don't order it without also sorting out the separately sold Quick base.
The Soft-Shell Bags
Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, 20 Cubic Feet Waterproof Roof Cargo Carrier Bag — Best for maximum volume and cars with no roof rack
Twenty cubic feet at 51" x 39" x 17" is the largest published capacity anywhere on this page — roughly 54 percent more stated volume than the 13 cu ft hard-shell box, whose listing does not publish exterior dimensions to compare against. That's the structural advantage of fabric: no rigid shell means the walls go where the cargo goes.
The more important spec for a lot of shoppers is that it mounts with included hooks and works with or without roof rails, fitting sedans, SUVs and trucks. If your car has a bare roof, several of the hard-shell boxes on this page are not available to you. The DNA Motoring box (ASIN B09J8P7RKS) fits vehicles with cross bars only. The Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box (ASIN B0F631L11C) mounts to crossbars up to 3 inches wide. The GarveeTech (ASIN B0G11Y9QC6) requires a roof rack. This bag mounts with or without roof rails.
Weatherproofing is where the listing gets specific. It describes sealed dual waterproof zippers with an extended rain flap, triple reinforced welded seams, and a double-layer PVC mesh with 1000D waterproof fabric that the manufacturer says stays flexible in freezing cold and harsh sun. Built-in reflective strips are included for night visibility. The kit ships with 1 cargo bag, 6 safety hooks, 1 anti-slip mat, 1 storage bag, 1 combination lock and 1 user manual — that's the most fully specified package contents list of any product here.
A realistic caveat: a combination lock on a zipper is a deterrent, not a hard-shell security system. Treat it as protection against opportunism, not against someone with a knife. Plan to bring valuables inside overnight.
Pros
- 20 cu ft at 51" x 39" x 17", the largest published capacity on this page
- Works with or without roof rails, so a bare-roof car is not disqualified
- Sealed dual waterproof zippers plus an extended rain flap
- 1000D waterproof fabric over double-layer PVC mesh; triple reinforced welded seams
- Reflective strips, anti-slip mat, 6 safety hooks and a combination lock included
- Folds flat into an included storage bag when not in use
- Zipper-and-fabric security is inherently weaker than a locking rigid shell
- The supplied listing information does not state a maximum load weight
Verdict: The obvious pick for a family that needs the largest stated volume on this page, and a workable option if your vehicle has no rack — its published 20 cu ft and hook-based no-rails mounting are what earn it that spot.
KMFurnila 15 Cubic Feet Heavy Duty Waterproof Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — Best for 15 cu ft of fabric capacity with or without roof racks
Fifteen cubic feet from 700D high-wear PVC fabric with triple reinforced welds. The manufacturer's own argument for it is explicit: it drastically reduces vehicle load versus hard roof boxes. Treat that as the seller's claim rather than a verified figure: the KMFurnila listing (ASIN B0H74LB7QY) publishes no empty weight for the bag, and neither do the hard-shell listings on this page, so there is no published weight comparison to check it against.
Waterproofing is handled by a sealed waterproof zipper plus a large Velcro protective flap, using heat-sealed welding. The Velcro-flap-over-zipper approach is a common and sensible construction: the flap sheds the water before it reaches the zipper line, which is the weak point on any fabric carrier.
It ships with an anti-slip mat, storage bag, reinforced straps, door hooks and a luggage lock, and mounts on vehicles with or without roof racks. The door-hook method — hooks that catch inside the door frames — is what makes bare-roof mounting possible, and it's why the included anti-slip mat isn't optional in practice: it's the layer preventing the loaded bag from sliding on painted metal.
Note the fabric difference against the Truckiipa bag: 700D here versus 1000D there. These are published fabric specifications, not a comparative abrasion test. Denier alone does not establish which finished bag is tougher. Neither listing publishes the carrier’s own weight.
Pros
- 15 cu ft of storage with a build the manufacturer says drastically reduces vehicle load versus hard roof boxes
- 700D high-wear PVC fabric with triple reinforced welds
- Sealed waterproof zipper plus a large Velcro protective flap, heat-sealed
- Anti-slip mat, reinforced straps, door hooks and a luggage lock all included
- Works with or without roof racks
- 700D fabric is a lower denier rating than the 1000D specified on the Truckiipa bag
- The supplied listing information does not state exterior dimensions or a maximum load weight
Verdict: A workable pick if you want 15 cu ft of fabric capacity that mounts with or without roof racks; the manufacturer positions the build as reducing vehicle load versus a hard box, but the listing for ASIN B0H74LB7QY publishes no weight to support that.
Mounting Hardware and Roof Protection
A cargo box is only as good as what holds it down. These four are the supporting cast — replacement clamps for a box whose original hardware is lost or corroded, and a pad for the contact surface.
4 Pcs Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Upgraded Rooftop Cargo Carrier Rack Bolts — Best for wider crossbars needing a complete replacement kit
The number that decides this purchase is 85mm/3.34in inner width, with 98mm/3.8in spacing between thread centers. Measure your bar. If it's wider than what a clamp can straddle, nothing else on the listing matters.
The kit includes 4 metal U-bolt clamps, 4 plastic back plates, 4 rubber gaskets, 8 heavy lock nuts, 2 bandages, and 1 set of hole sealing stickers. Those sealing stickers are the detail worth noticing — they cover unused mounting holes in your box, which is exactly where water finds its way in. The manufacturer describes installation as taking 3-5 minutes and the materials as resistant to breakage, deformation and corrosion from acid, alkali, wind and rain.
Pros
- 85mm inner width, the wider of the two U-bolt kits here that publish a figure
- Kit contents: 4 clamps, 4 back plates, 4 gaskets, 8 lock nuts, 2 bandages, hole sealing stickers
- Rubber gaskets add friction and protect paint from scratches
- Manufacturer states 3-5 minute installation
- The 85mm inner width and 98mm thread-center spacing must be checked against your bars; the manufacturer says it fits most car models, not all
Verdict: A complete replacement kit whose published 85mm inner width and 98mm thread-center spacing (ASIN B0CJ3DD4CY) give you figures to compare against your own bars; the listing states no maximum usable rack width, so confirm clearance with the seller before ordering.
A ABSOPRO 4 PCS Universal Roof Box U Bolt Clamps Rooftop Cargo Carrier Rack Bolts 83mm Internal Width — Best for narrower bars where exact thread dimensions matter
This kit publishes precise dimensional data: 83mm/3.27in inner width, 90mm/3.54in from center to center of screw thread, and 7.5mm/0.3in screw diameter, usable on luggage racks up to 80mm wide. If you're replacing hardware on an existing box, those three numbers are what let you check fit properly rather than guessing.
It also publishes the most useful negative spec on this page: not suitable for Thule car racks. That single line will save some readers a return, and it's the kind of honesty that's rarer than it should be in this category.
Construction is iron and plastic, described as anti-oxidant, wear resistant and temperature resistant. The manufacturer asks you to confirm the size and appearance of your roof box and mounting location before purchasing.
Pros
- Full dimensions published: 83mm inner width, 90mm thread-center spacing, 7.5mm screw diameter
- States a usable rack width limit of 80mm, so fitment is checkable in advance
- Explicitly states it is not suitable for Thule car racks
Cons
- Iron rather than stainless; the manufacturer describes it as anti-oxidant but does not publish a corrosion standard
- Not compatible with Thule racks per the listing
- 83mm inner width is narrower than the 85mm kit above, which matters on wide bars
Verdict: A sound choice when you need to verify fit by measurement — the A ABSOPRO kit (ASIN B0DDV2QH5S) publishes a 7.5mm screw diameter and an 80mm maximum usable rack width, and the Thule exclusion is stated plainly.
Ywdiml 4 Sets Car Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Vehicle Rooftop Cargo Carrier — Best for buyers who want stainless steel hardware
The differentiator is the material. This kit is described as made of stainless steel and plastic, where the ABSOPRO kit specifies iron. For hardware that lives outside year-round through road salt and rain, stainless is the more corrosion-resistant choice on paper, and that's a reasonable reason to pay attention to this one.
The package matches the pattern of the category: 4 U-bolt clips, 4 rubber washers, 4 plastic backplates, 8 heavy-duty locking nuts, 2 bandages and 1 set of sealing stickers. The seller describes a no-drill installation sequence. Use replacement clamps only when the box and rack manufacturers approve the specific parts and installation method for your setup; follow their instructions for attachment locations, hardware and tightening. The supplied listing is not a substitute for that approval.
One thing to sort out before ordering: the supplied listing information for the Ywdiml 4 Sets Car Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps (ASIN B0G2P4DTPP) does not include an inner width or thread-center spacing, so confirm those dimensions with the seller and check them against your crossbars.
Pros
- Stainless steel and plastic construction
- Complete package: 4 clips, 4 rubber washers, 4 plastic backplates, 8 heavy-duty locking nuts, 2 bandages, sealing stickers
- Step-by-step installation published, with no drilling required
- Rubber gasket and plastic back plate increase contact friction
- The supplied listing information does not include an inner width or thread spacing, so confirm those dimensions with the seller before ordering
Verdict: Worth it for the stainless steel spec if corrosion is your concern — but confirm the clamp's inner width and thread spacing with the seller first, because the supplied listing information for ASIN B0G2P4DTPP does not state them.
Roof Rack Pads, 51"x43" Rooftop Cargo Bag Mat — Best for protecting paint under a soft-shell bag
The pad is listed at 51" x 43". Truckiipa lists overall bag dimensions of 51" x 39" x 17", which do not establish its loaded contact area. Confirm the required pad coverage and compatibility against your bag and vehicle instructions before buying. The pad maker describes cutting or folding it, but use only an arrangement approved for the complete setup.
Material is woven foam PVC, described as thicker, wear-resistant and durable. Its two jobs are stated plainly: prevent cargo slipping during transport, and stop the roof being scratched by the carrier above it. It's listed as suitable under crossbars, roof racks, roof baskets, luggage brackets and roof storage boxes — so it isn't only for bags.
Practical detail: it folds or rolls small enough that the manufacturer says it stores in a glove box. That means it comes home with you rather than living in the garage where you'll forget it.
Pros
- Listed pad dimensions of 51" x 43"; actual coverage needs confirmation against the bag’s contact area
- Woven foam PVC that resists wear
- Anti-slip function as well as scratch protection
- Can be cut to fit or folded to double up protection
- Folds or rolls down small enough to store in a glove box per the listing
- The supplied listing information does not state a thickness measurement, only that it is thicker
Verdict: A separately sold pad to consider if your bag and vehicle instructions permit it and its 51" x 43" dimensions meet their required coverage. The dimensions alone do not establish fit or scratch prevention.
What to Look For in a Budget Rooftop Cargo Box
Five things, in order of how often they cause regret:
- Your crossbar width, measured. This is the single most common fit failure. The 13 cu ft hard-shell box states compatibility with round, square and aerodynamic bars up to 3 inches wide. The 4 Pcs Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps kit (ASIN B0CJ3DD4CY) states an 85mm inner width. The A ABSOPRO 4 PCS Universal Roof Box U Bolt Clamps kit (ASIN B0DDV2QH5S) states an 83mm inner width, but its listing also rates it for luggage racks up to 80mm wide, so measure your bars against that 80mm limit rather than the inner width. Get a tape measure on your bars before you get a credit card out.
- Whether you have a rack at all. The DNA Motoring box fits vehicles with cross bars only. The Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box requires round, square or aero crossbars up to 3 inches wide. The GarveeTech requires a roof rack. The INNO GEAR CARRY locks to a Quick base sold separately, and its listing does not state whether that base needs existing crossbars or a roof rack. Both soft-shell bags mount with or without rails: the Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag with included hooks, and the KMFurnila 15 Cubic Feet bag with included door hooks. That single distinction eliminates half this list for a lot of shoppers.
- Which side opens. Dual-side opening appears on both the 13 cu ft hard-shell box and the GarveeTech. On the GarveeTech, the manufacturer specifies that one side must be locked while the other is open. On the 13 cu ft box, the passenger side opens to 13 inches with a support arm.
- Weather sealing method. The hard shells rely on a rigid lid and gasket; the bags rely on zipper design. The Truckiipa uses sealed dual waterproof zippers with an extended rain flap; the KMFurnila uses a sealed waterproof zipper with a large Velcro protective flap. Both approaches put a barrier over the zipper line because that's where water gets in.
If you're still deciding between rigid and fabric, our guide to choosing between a roof box and a cargo bag goes deeper on the trade, and roof rack fitment basics covers measuring your bars.
How We Research
This site does not perform product research. For this page, the research consisted of reading the Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets for all ten products, each retrieved on 2026-09-06, and comparing the published figures against each other directly — capacity in cubic feet, maximum load in pounds, exterior dimensions, shell and fabric materials, mounting compatibility and included accessories.
Where a manufacturer published a specific number, that number is quoted and attributed. Where a listing does not state something — a load rating for the soft-shell bags, dimensions for the Ywdiml clamps — that absence is noted rather than filled in. Nothing here was measured, weighed, driven with, or timed by anyone at this site.
One discrepancy is worth flagging as a research finding: the DNA Motoring listing title reads "11 17 Cubic Ft." while the specification bullet states 11 cubic feet, and the GarveeTech capacity bullet is headed "12/14 cubic feet" while its prose commits to 12 cubic feet (340 L). Where a title and a specification disagree, this page uses the specification.
Final Verdict
If you have crossbars and want one box to handle a family road trip, the Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 13 Cu Ft is the pick. It publishes three numbers you can check before ordering: 13 cu ft of space, a 130 lbs load rating, and a stated maximum crossbar width of 3 inches covering round, square and aero bars. It does not publish exterior dimensions or a crossbar spacing requirement, so confirm those with the seller. Add the dual-side opening with a 13-inch passenger-side gap and a support arm, plus a lock whose key won't release until every locking point is engaged, and you have a box designed by someone who thought about a parent loading it in a dark rest-stop parking lot.
If your load is heavy rather than bulky, take the GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier instead for its published 165 lbs maximum capacity and its stated one-year warranty.
And if your car has no rack, stop reading the hard-shell sections entirely. The Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag gives you 20 cubic feet at 51" x 39" x 17", mounts with 6 included hooks with or without roof rails, and folds into its own storage bag in the off season. A separately sold roof pad such as the 51" x 43" Roof Rack Pads (ASIN B0CL27QP26) is worth considering only if your bag and vehicle instructions permit it and its listed dimensions meet their required coverage; the pad listing states scratch protection as a seller claim and publishes no thickness or verified contact coverage.
Frequently Asked Questions
It depends on your load, but the products here span a wide range: 6 cu ft on the INNO GEAR CARRY box, 11 cu ft on the DNA Motoring box, 12 cu ft (340 L) on the GarveeTech, 13 cu ft on the Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 15 cu ft on the KMFurnila bag, and 20 cu ft on the Truckiipa bag. Note that on this page the two largest published capacities, 15 cu ft and 20 cu ft, are both soft-shell bags.
Do I need a roof rack to use a rooftop cargo box?
For most of the hard-shell boxes on this page, yes. The DNA Motoring box fits vehicles with cross bars only. The Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box mounts to round, square or aero crossbars up to 3 inches wide. The GarveeTech requires a roof rack. The INNO GEAR CARRY locks to a Quick base sold separately, and its supplied listing information does not state whether that base needs existing crossbars or a roof rack, so ask the seller if your roof is bare. The two soft-shell bags are different — both the Truckiipa and the KMFurnila are stated to work with or without roof racks. The Truckiipa Car Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag mounts with included hooks; the KMFurnila 15 Cubic Feet bag includes door hooks.
Is a hard shell or a soft bag better for a family trip?
The trade is security and rigidity versus volume and weight. The soft bags publish larger volumes — 15 and 20 cubic feet — and the KMFurnila's manufacturer specifically states its fabric build drastically reduces vehicle load compared with hard roof boxes. If you park overnight in unfamiliar places, the rigid lockable shell is the safer bet; if you need maximum space or have no rack, the bag wins.
Will a rooftop cargo bag leak in the rain?
Both bags here are built specifically against that. The Truckiipa uses sealed dual waterproof zippers with an extended rain flap, triple reinforced welded seams, and 1000D waterproof fabric over double-layer PVC mesh. The KMFurnila uses a sealed waterproof zipper with a large Velcro protective flap and heat-sealed welding on 700D PVC fabric. Both manufacturers claim full waterproof performance; neither listing cites an independent waterproofing standard or test rating.
How do I know if replacement U-bolt clamps will fit my roof box?
Measure the crossbar and compare it against both the clamp's published inner width and any maximum usable rack width the listing states, since those are not always the same number. The ABSOPRO kit states 83mm/3.27in inner width, 90mm thread-center spacing and 7.5mm screw diameter, usable on racks up to 80mm wide, and explicitly says it is not suitable for Thule racks. The upgraded 85mm kit states 85mm/3.34in inner width with 98mm thread-center spacing. The Ywdiml stainless kit does not state an inner width in the supplied listing information, so you would need to confirm that with the seller.
Do I need a roof pad under a cargo bag?
It's strongly advisable if the carrier contacts painted metal. The 51"x43" roof rack pad is woven foam PVC and is described as both preventing cargo slipping during transport and protecting the roof from scratches. Note that both soft-shell bags on this page already include an anti-slip mat in their kits, so a separate pad is mainly for extra coverage or for use under a hard box or basket.
Can I leave valuables in a rooftop cargo box overnight?
The Truckiipa bag includes a combination lock for its zippers. None of these listings publish a security or anti-theft certification, and a lock on a plastic shell or fabric zipper is a deterrent rather than a vault. Take anything genuinely valuable inside with you.
Sources & Methodology
No one at this website has driven with, mounted, loaded or physically inspected any of the ten carriers, bags, clamps or pads above — this site runs no vehicle testing and makes no claim to. What this page is built from is the Amazon Creators API verified product record and the product listing feature bullets for each ASIN, all retrieved on 2026-09-06, read line by line and cross-compared so that capacity, load rating, dimensions, materials and crossbar compatibility sit next to each other where a shopper can actually weigh them.
For rooftop cargo specifically, that kind of spec reading gets you further than it would in most categories, because the decisive facts here are dimensional and published: your bar width against a clamp's 83mm or 85mm inner width, your packing weight against a 110, 130 or 165 lbs rating, your roof against a 53-inch box. Those you can verify before you buy. What published specifications cannot tell you is how a given shell holds up after five seasons of UV, how loud a particular box is at 70 mph, or whether a zipper survives its hundredth open — for those, the owner reviews on each listing page will serve you better than anything on this page can.